Quagga Mussel Inspection
How to Pass the Quagga and Zebra Mussel Inspection
All vessels entering Lake Perris will be inspected for Quagga and Zebra Mussels. This includes all canoes, kayaks, sail boats, rubber rafts, fishing waders, scuba gear, etc.
Only boats and equipment which are clean, drained, and completely dry, will pass inspection. If you are coming from a known quagga-infected body of water, you must wait 8 calendar days before bringing it to Lake Perris or Silverwood Lake.
If your boat or equipment, including but not limited to sails, life vests, and skis, are wet, damp, or moist, you will not pass inspection. Failure to pass inspection will result in a full 8 calendar day dry-out period before that failed vessel is allowed to launch at a State Park Reservoir.
Multiple watercraft: All vessels on a trailer will be automatically failed if one of the vessels fails inspection. For example, if there are two jet skis on the trailer, and one fails inspection, then the other vessel will be failed as well.
Do not wash, rinse, or hose your boat right before coming to Lake Perris. Your watercraft WILL NOT BE ALLOWED IN THE PARK. Let the boat dry for 8 days minimum after washing. The mussel lives in fresh water, so tap water will not remove the mussel from your vessel. These animals are like barnacles, clams, and oysters and they attach themselves to any solid material and thrive in dark, stagnant environments. Rinsing with fresh water will not remove them. To KILL the animal, you must let your boat and equipment in or on the boat be completely dry.
Unfortunately there is no easy way for anyone to identify if a damp boat is infested with the mussels. All watercraft must go through inspection before they are allowed to enter the park.
We want you to pass inspection, but we all have a responsibility to protect California’s waterways, drinking water supplies, and your watercraft from these destructive, invasive mussels.
Be a Safe Boater!
Being a strong swimmer doesn't make you drown proof! We recommend that everyone (even if you're an Olympic gold medal champion) wear a life jacket! Every person being towed behind the vessel must wear a lifejacket, at all times.
California law requires that every child under age 13 must wear a life jacket at all times while on a moving vessel of any length. (There are three exceptions: Children are not required to wear a life jacket when they are wearing a harness on a sailboat, when they are in an enclosed cabin, and when they are on a vessel during an emergency rescue.)
For more information, following this LINK and SAVE THE ONES YOU LOVE!
Summer: 6:00 am - 7:30 pm
Winter: 7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Watercraft without running lights must be off the water by sunset.
Summer hours change with Daylight Savings Time.
Last launch is 2 hours before lake closing time.
Lake Perris allows power boats, personal watercraft (jet skis), and non-powered vessels (sail boat, canoe, kayak, stand up paddle boards, etc.) on the water. We accept both 2 and 4 stroke engines.
Marina Closure / Closed Until Further Notice / No rental boats, slips, store
The Marina has been removed and we are in the process of having a private business concessionaire to establish a new Marina operation. Our goal is to hopefully have a new operator by the summer of 2022. We do not have a store and we do not rent boats at this time. Please bring everything into the park for your camping or day use adventure. There are several grocery stores near the park.