California State Parks is supported by four distinct Commissions. Visit each Commission website to learn more about the role of each Commission, current members, upcoming meetings, and for meeting archives and contact information.

DPR logo

State Park and Recreation Commission

The State Park and Recreation Commission (SPRC) provides guidance in the administration, protection, and development of the State Park System. There are nine seats, each representing a specific background or area of expertise, and members are appointed by the Governor.

DBW Logo

California Boating and Waterways Commission

The Boating and Waterways Commission (BWC) is mandated by the Harbors and Navigation Code (HNC) to advise and comment on all Division matters within its jurisdiction, and also advises and comments on all boating facility loans and grants proposed by the Division.

OHV logo

Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Recreation Commission

The Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Recreation (OHMVR) Commission was created by the Legislature in 1982, and has responsibility for approving general plans, hearing public comments, and reviewing grant fund applications for new and expanded recreation areas.

OHP Logo

State Historical Resources Commission

The State Historical Resources Commission (SHRC) is a nine-member state review board, appointed by the Governor, with responsibilities for the identification, registration, and preservation of California's cultural heritage.