
State of California - Natural Resources Agency
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS AND RECREATION

Attached is a copy of my current driver license/picture ID, and  a copy of the following certification (check one):
   1. STATE REGIONAL CENTER CERTIFICATION (Attach copy)

   2. DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES (DMV) PERMANENTLY DISABLED STATUS.  Attach identification card containing
    the name of disabled person (not a copy of the placard) OR copy of  vehicle registration stating disabled status/license number.

   3. SOCIAL SECURITY DISABILITY BENEFITS ELIGIBILITY VERIFICATION (Supplemental Security Income Payment 
    Decision, or Social Security Disability Award Certificate, or Medicare card and under the age of 65) (Attach copy)

   4. DOCTOR CERTIFICATION (Doctor must complete Section III)

Certification type & photo ID copies 
and $3.50 payment attached / 
included.

DPR 818A (Rev. 6/2016)(Excel 6/6/2016)(Page 1 of 2) Issuing office will retain completed applications for one calendar year plus prior calendar year.

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY

IV.  APPLICANT CERTIFICATION

I.  APPLICANT INFORMATION

II.  CERTIFICATION TYPE

III.  DOCTOR CERTIFICATION

Check here if application is for replacement pass.

DISABLED DISCOUNT PASS APPLICATION

NAME (Print or type:  Last, First, Middle Initial) PHONE NO.

ADDRESS

CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE

DOCTOR'S NAME PROFESSIONAL LICENSE NO.

BUSINESS PHONE NO.BUSINESS ADDRESS

CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE

I certify under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.

I certify that the applicant has one of the disabilities defined on the reverse side of this form.
DOCTOR'S SIGNATURE AND DATE

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE AND DATE

CERTIFICATION TYPE 

Lifetime Pass - $3.50 application fee

For persons with permanent disabilities, the Disabled Discount Pass entitles its bearer to a 50% discount for use of all basic facilities 
(including vehicle day use, family camping, and boat use fees) at any unit of the California State Park System operated by the California 
Department of Parks and Recreation, except Hearst San Simeon SHM.  The pass holder is required to present the Disabled Discount 
Pass and a valid California Driver License or other suitable photo identification, along with any campsite reservation, and to pay any 
supplemental fees upon entrance to the park unit.
The pass may be used any day of the week, including holidays, if space is available.  The pass is not valid at units operated by local 
government, private agencies or concessionaires. It is not valid for per-person entry or tour fees (such as museums), group use or sites, 
special events, commercial use, fees under $2.00 or for supplemental fees and cannot be used in conjunction with any other pass and/or 
discount. The pass is valid unless revoked and is non-transferable and non-refundable, and cannot be used in conjunction with any other 
pass and/or discount.  A lost or damage pass may be replaced only through reapplication.  
To qualify, a person must possess one of the permanent disabilities as defined on the reverse side of this form.  Applicants must provide 
the Department of Parks and Recreation with one of the types of disability certifications listed in Section II below.
Application Instructions: Complete Sectoins I, II, and IV.  A doctor must complete Section III only if qualifying by doctor's certification.
(NOTE:  Completed application packets with all attachments will be retained by California State Parks and cannot be returned; please 
redact sensitive/confidential information.)  Submit completed application and certification material and copy of valid state-issued driver 
license or suitable photo identification, and $3.50 payment to:

IN PERSON:
At many units of the California State Park System
(contact in advance to ensure availability); or at:

CA State Park Pass Sales Office
1416 9th Street, Room 116

Sacramento, CA  95814

BY MAIL (Allow 8-10 weeks for processing):
Check/Money order payable to: "CA Dept. Parks & Recreation" 

may be mailed with completed packets to:
California State Parks - Disabled Discount Program

P.O. Box 942896
Sacramento, CA  94296-0001

If you have questions regarding the Disabled Discount Pass, contact CA STATE PARKS SALES at 1-800-777-0369.
(Information on this form is considered personal.  See Page 2 for Privacy Notice.)

1 2  3  4 
VERIFIED BY DATE PAYMENT INFORMATION

Cash Check #____________ Last 4 Digits CC#___________

ISSUED BY DATE DISTRICT/UNIT MAIL-IN (HQ ONLY) PASS NUMBER

E-MAIL ADDRESS



DISABLED DISCOUNT PASS ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

For purposes of this program, a disabled person is defined as anyone who :  1) has a physical or mental impairment which  
substantially limits one or more of such person's major life activities, and 2) has a current record of such impairment. 

To be eligible for a Disabled Discount Pass, the applicant must possess one of the following disabilities:

DEVELOPMENTAL:   Persons who meet the legal definition of, or have been identified as developmentally disabled.  This 
includes autism, cerebral palsy, mental retardation, etc.

HEARING:   Persons who have total deafness or are unable to hear with the aid of an assistance device on the level that   
meets the standards of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), as determined by an audiometer.

MENTAL:   Persons who have any mental disorder on the level of severity that restricts activities of daily living, social  
functioning, or concentration.

PHYSICAL:   Persons who have any of the following physical disabilities:

• Mobility:  Orthopedic impairments, amputations, or functional limitations where there is:  1) loss or significant impairment  
of one or both upper extremities; or 2) loss or significant impairment of one or both lower extremities; or 3) impairment of  

• the trunk, back or spine that is a medically diagnosed disability which substantially limits one or more major life activities,  
impairs or interferes with mobility, or requires the aid of an assistance device for mobility.

• Cardiovascular:   Severe cardiac impairment resulting from one of the three consequences of heart disease:  1) congestive
heart disorder; or 2) ischemia with or without necrosis of heart muscle; or 3) conduction disturbances and/or arrhythmias 
resulting in cardiac syncope; or 4) chronic venous insufficiency, or peripheral arterial disease with intermittent claudication.

• Respiratory:   Lung disease to such an extent that forced expiration volume at one second, when measured by spirometry, 
is less than one liter, or arterial oxygen tension (PO2) is less than 60mm/HG on room air at rest.  Also, persons with  
episodic asthma, chronic bronchitis, etc.

• Neurological:   Multiple sclerosis and other neurological disorders such as epilepsy and parkinsonian syndrome.

SPEECH:   Persons who have a loss of speech from a glossectomy or laryngectomy, or from cicatricial laryngeal stenosis due 
to injury or infection that resulted in the loss of voice production by normal means.

VISUAL:   Persons whose remaining vision in their better eye, after best correction, is 20/200 or less as measured by the  
Snellen Test.  Also, persons with a substantial limited visual field, by visual efficiency and homonymous hemianopsia, etc.

PRIVACY NOTICE

Section 1798.17 of the Civil Code requires this notice be provided when collecting personal information from individuals. Each
individual has the right to review personal information maintained by this agency, unless access is exempted by law.

Department of Parks and Recreation Marketing and Business Development

Staff Services Manager I

1416 Ninth Street, Room 1442-7; P.O. Box 942896, Sacramento, CA  94296-0001 (916) 653-8280

Public Resources Code Section 5010 (Amended by stats. 1983, Ch. 524, Sec. 3)

All information requested on the application is mandatory.

The applicant will not be issued a Disabled Discount Pass.

The information will be used to determine eligibility for issuance of Disabled Discount Passes allowing 50% discount for use of 
all basic facilities in state operated units of the State Park System.  Applications will be retained one calendar year plus prior 
calendar year for audit purposes, statistical data, and evaluation of the program.

Departmental Audits Office or Human Rights Office

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES:  The information entered on this form is classified as "personal" under the Information Practices Act
(Civil Code Section 1798).  The Department's Legal office should be consulted before any disclosure is made.
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AGENCY NAME DIVISION

TITLE OF OFFICIAL RESPONSIBLE FOR MAINTENANCE OF THE INFORMATION

BUSINESS ADDRESS OF OFFICIAL TELEPHONE NUMBER

AUTHORITY WHICH AUTHORIZES THE MAINTENANCE OF THE INFORMATION

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS OF INFORMATION ARE VOLUNTARY, ALL OTHERS ARE MANDATORY

THE CONSEQUENCES, IF ANY, OF NOT PROVIDING ALL OR ANY PART OF THE REQUESTED INFORMATION

THE PRINCIPAL PURPOSE(S) WITHIN THE AGENCY FOR WHICH THE INFORMATION IS TO BE USED

KNOWN OR FORESEEABLE DISCLOSURES OF THE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO CIVIL CODE SECTION 1798.24, SUBDIVISIONS (e) OR (f)
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