
   

                          

 

 

                    
         

 
  

 

   
    

  

            

    
               

               
          

  
   

   

  

               
          

    

       

  

   
  

 

  

  

   

 

     
        

  

      
     

       

     
     

      
                         

              

   
 

       

        
     

   

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  

State of California - Natural Resources Agency 
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS AND RECREATION 

GOLDEN BEAR PASS APPLICATION 
2020 Calendar Year (January - December) - $5.00 Application Fee 
To qualify for the Golden Bear Pass, the applicant must currently receive Supplemental Security Income (SSI),  
OR receive aid under the CalWORKs program (as defined below), OR be 62 and over and meet certain income limits.  

A. Personal Information: CHECK IF APPLYING TO REPLACE A LOST/STOLEN PASS FROM THIS CALENDAR YEAR. 

APPLICANT NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) SPOUSE / REGISTERED DOMESTIC PARTNER 

PHONE NUMBER 

( ) 
DATE OF BIRTH E-MAIL ADDRESS 

MAILING ADDRESS / CITY / STATE / ZIP CODE 

HOME STREET ADDRESS / CITY / STATE / ZIP CODE (no post office boxes) Same as Mailing Address 

APPLICANT ORIGINAL SIGNATURE (PHOTOCOPIES NOT ACCEPTED) 
I certify under penalty of perjury that the information provided below is true and correct 
and that any spouse or registered domestic partner listed in the application has a valid 
marriage or civil union license or certificate of registration of domestic partnership. 

► 

VALID DRIVER LICENSE/OTHER PHOTO ID NO. 
(Attach copy if applying by mail) 

TODAY'S DATE 

B. Attach the following items to this application with sensitive/confidential information omitted:

1. A copy of a valid state issued driver license or photo identification issued by the state, the federal government, or a current
school ID for applicant and spouse or registered domestic partner if named on pass (Interim/Temporary not accepted).
( A name change document, such as a marriage certificate or divorce decree, is required if the applicant name differs from the documentation
provided.)

2. $5.00 application fee: Check/money order payable to CA Dept. of Parks and Recreation, or complete credit/debit card (Visa/
Mastercard/Discover) section.

3. Required documentation based on selected certification below in Section C, dated within the last year.

C. Check one of the following boxes to indicate the provisions under which you qualify:

1. Receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) [CA State Welfare and Institutions Code Section 12200]. Applicant must provide a current
statement of SSI benefits or current benefit verification letter from the U. S. Social Security Administration. Applicant must be at
least 16 years of age.

2. Receiving aid under the CalWORKS Program under the provisions of the California State Welfare and Institutions Code
beginning at Section 11200. Applicant must verify their CalWORKs case is ACTIVE in the month the Golden Bear Pass application
is submitted by providing documentation from their online benefits system or the county social services agency.

3. Single, age 62 or over and average gross monthly income from all sources does not exceed $1,000.23. (Complete & attach page 2)

4. Married or registered domestic partnership, primary applicant aged 62 or over and combined average gross monthly income
from all sources does not exceed $1,751. (Complete & attach page 2)

CREDIT/DEBIT CARD PAYMENT AUTHORIZATION (Mail-in applications only) 
CVC No. (3-digit

Card No.: Expiration: on back of card): 
VISA 
MASTERCARD 
DISCOVER 

I authorize the California Department of Parks and Recreation to charge $5.00 to my credit/debit card. I agree that I will pay for 
this purchase in accordance with the issuing bank cardholder agreement. 

Name as it appears on card: Signature: Date: 

ISSUING OFFICE USE ONLY 
Retain applications for one year from the end of the calendar year, then destroy. 

INCOME VERIFICATION TYPE 

1 2 3 4 
INCOME ELIGIBILITY VERIFIED BY DATE PAYMENT RECEIVED 

Cash Check  #_____________ Last  4  Digits  CC#_____________ 
PASS ISSUED BY DATE DISTRICT/UNIT Mail-in (HQ ONLY) PASS NUMBER 

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES: The information entered on this form is classified as "personal" under the Information Practices Act (Civil Code 
Section 1798). When filing in person, supporting documents may be returned to the applicant. 
DPR 578 (Rev. 1/2020)(Excel 1/3/2020)(Page 1 of 3) DO NOT DUPLICATE APPLICATION - DEPARTMENT LEGAL OFFICE SHOULD BE CONSULTED BEFORE DISCLOSURE. 



     
    

    

      

  

APPLICANT SPOUSE/REG. DOMESTIC PARTNER 
Doc. 
Attached 

Doc.  
Attached Income Source Annual Gross Income Source Annual Gross 

$ $ 

$ $ 

$ $ 

$ $ 

$ $ 

$ $ 

Total Annual Gross Income Total Annual Gross Income $ $ 

Total Combined Annual Gross Income:   $ 
          

     
     

   

    

   

    
      

  

     

      

   

        
         
  

  

  

2020 GOLDEN BEAR PASS APPLICATION - Continued Income 
Verification 

Please read thoroughly before applying under this section. 

If you checked box C-3 or C-4 on page one, please choose one of the following two options for income 
verification, attach appropriate documentation, and complete and sign the Golden Bear Income 
Declaration section at the bottom of page. 
I. CURRENT "REDUCED-FEE SPORT FISHING LICENSE: SENIOR - LIMITED INCOME(LI)" 

Issued by the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (copy attached). 
If verifying under this Section (I), skip Section II and complete Declaration section at bottom. 
II. DECLARATION OF TOTAL GROSS ANNUAL INCOME SOURCES* 
State your income in  the  table  below,  attach  documentation and complete/sign the  Golden Bear Income 
Declaration below.  

Total  gross  income means an  individual's total  income before  taxes or deductions.   

This includes ALL sources of  income  including  but  not  limited  to:   

Salaries,  commission, bonuses,  social security,  pensions,  disbursements from  retirement  accounts,  workers' 
compensation benefits,  unemployment  insurance benefits,  rent,  interest  income, welfare  payments, gra nts  and 
educational allowances.   

Total Annual  Gross Income  cannot  exceed: 
$12,002.76 for  a single person    or   $21,012 for married  persons or registered domestic partners. 

*Applicant must attach any and all associated documentation providing "Proof of Income". Acceptable 
documents include but are not limited to: Statement of benefits from Social Security, Veterans Administration, 
retirement/pension, unemployment insurance benefits, and/or workers' compensation benefits; rent 
statements, all forms 1099 for income referenced above, Forms W2. 

GOLDEN BEAR INCOME DECLARATION (must be completed and signed) 
The undersigned hereby certifies, under penalty of perjury, that all information provided in this 
application is true and correct, and that he/she meets the Golden Bear Pass Income Limits for the year 
in which applying. 

NAME OF APPLICANT (Last, First, Middle Initial) NAME  OF SPOUSE/REGISTERED DOMESTIC PARTNER (if applicable) 

MAILING ADDRESS / CITY / STATE / ZIP CODE 

APPLICANT ORIGINAL SIGNATURE (PHOTOCOPIES NOT ACCEPTED) 

► 

ORIGINAL SIGNATURE - SPOUSE/REGISTERED DOMESTIC PARTNER (if applicable) 

► 
DPR 578 (Rev. 1/2020)(Page 2 of 3) DO NOT DUPLICATE APPLICATION  - DEPARTMENT LEGAL OFFICE SHOULD BE CONSULTED BEFORE DISCLOSURE. 



 

 

 

 
 

 
    

 

 

  
       
 

 

                     

 
  

 
Section 1798.17  of the  Civil  Code  requires  this  notice  be  provided when collecting personal  information from  individuals. 

Each individual has  the right to review  personal information maintained by this  agency, unless  access  is  exempted by  law. 

 

  
APPLICANT'S COPY GOLDEN BEAR PASS PROGRAM 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS:  (NOTE:  Completed  application  packets with  all  attachments submitted by  mail will  be  
retained by  California State  Parks  and cannot be  returned.)  Submit completed application  and certification  material and  copy 
of valid state-issued driver license or suitable photo Identification, and $5.00 payment (Check/Money  Order/Credit) to: 

2020 Calendar Year (January - December) 

IN PERSON: BY MAIL: 
At  designated locations  of  the  CA  State Park  System 

(www.parks.ca.gov/passes  - contact  in  advance  to  ensure  availability);  or 
at: 

Please  allow  4-6  weeks  for processing.   Check/Money order  payable  to:  "CA  
Dept.  Parks  & Recreation" may  be  mailed  with  completed  packets  to: 

California  State Parks 
Attn:  Golden Bear  Pass Program 

P.O. Box 942896 
Sacramento, CA   94296-0001 

Park Pass  Sales Office 
1416 9th Street, Room 116 

Sacramento, CA 95814 
TERMS AND CONDITIONS OVERVIEW 

Under the law, any qualifying person receiving  Supplemental Security Income (SSI) [CA State Welfare and Institutions 
Code Section 12200]; any person receiving aid under the applicable aid codes in the CalWORKS Program; or any person 
qualified as listed on page 1, Section C (3&4) in accordance with the California Family Code (beginning at Section 297) 
is eligible to receive the Golden Bear Pass upon application and payment of a $5.00 annual fee. 
The Golden Bear Pass entitles the bearer and spouse or registered domestic partner entry to most California State Park    
operated units where vehicle day use fees are collected at no charge. 
Upon receipt of the Golden Bear Pass, pass holder agrees to the  Terms and Conditions of this pass; violation could result in 
pass revocation.  For the complete list of Terms and Conditions inquire at the location of purchase or visit www.parks.ca.gov. 
Terms and Conditions include, but are not limited to: 
 Pass must be renewed each calendar year and is valid for the use of the pass holder and spouse or registered domestic 

partner only.  Once pass is received, you may use passcard for applicable benefits. 
 Pass is issued as a personal benefit to the pass holder and spouse or registered domestic partner only (applicable only if 

spouse or registered partner is named on passcard).  The pass holder may not lend, loan, reassign, or resell their pass or 
the privileges allowed by this pass to anyone else, including family members. 
 Pass holder and spouse or registered domestic partner (if applicable) must abide by any rules and regulations applicable 

to California State Parks or to the use of this pass, as amended from time to time. 
 Pass is valid for one passenger vehicle with a capacity of nine persons or less where a vehicle day use fee is collected. 

Not valid at units operated by federal or local government, private agencies or concessionaires.  Pass may be used any 
day of the week, including holidays, if space is available.  Admittance and use subject to available space. 
 Pass holder is required to present the Golden Bear Pass (photocopies not accepted) and a valid state-issued driver 

license or other suitable photo ID (interim/temporary not accepted) and pay any supplemental fees at the park. 
 To receive pass benefits at self-pay locations, pass holder must clearly display the pass & self-payment receipt on vehicle 

dashboard visible through the windshield.  Oversized vehicle fees will not be assessed; but, not all parks can accommodate. 
 Pass is not valid for resale or commercial use, industrial or business operations, including, but not limited to fleet use or 

pooling. Pass shall not be assigned for profit and is void if misused. 
 Pass is not valid for per-person entry or tour fees (such as museums), boat use, camping, group use or sites, special 

events, additional/extra vehicle fees, sanitation disposal use or for supplemental fees. 
 Pass is valid unless revoked.  This pass cannot be used in conjunction with any other pass and/or discount, nor can it be 

copied or altered in any way.  Pass will be cancelled if the pass holder is found not to meet the pass qualifications. 
 All sales are final. No refunds, replacements or exchanges will be made for any reason including, but not limited to: loss 

theft, park closures or environmental conditions such as low water levels, fire, or inclement weather. A lost or damaged 
pass may be replaced only through reapplication and payment of $5.00 fee. 

For any questions regarding the Golden Bear Pass, contact 
 CALIFORNIA STATE PARKS PASS SALES  at  1-800-777-0369 ext. 2   or  916-653-8280. 

Information on the application is considered personal.  See Privacy Notice below. 

PRIVACY NOTICE 

AGENCY  NAME 
Department of Parks and Recreation 

DIVISION 
Strategic Planning and Recreation Services 

TITLE  OF  OFFICIAL  RESPONSIBLE  FOR MAINTENANCE  OF  THE INFORMATION 
Staff Park and Recreation Specialist 
BUSINESS  ADDRESS OF  OFFICIAL 
1416 9th Street, Room 116; P.O. Box 942896, Sacramento, CA  94296-0001 

TELEPHONE  NUMBER 
(916) 653-8280 

AUTHORITY  WHICH  AUTHORIZES  THE MAINTENANCE  OF  THE INFORMATION 
Public Resources Code Section 5011 (added by Chapter 1303, Statutes of 1982) 
THE FOLLOWING ITEMS  OF  INFORMATION ARE VOLUNTARY, ALL  OTHERS ARE MANDATORY 
All information requested on the application is mandatory with the exception of credit card information. 
THE CONSEQUENCES, IF  ANY, OF  NOT PROVIDING ALL  OR ANY  PART OF  THE REQUESTED INFORMATION 
The applicant will not be issued a Golden Bear Pass. 
THE PRINCIPAL  PURPOSE(S)  WITHIN THE AGENCY F OR WHICH  THE  INFORMATION IS  TO BE USED 
The  information  will  be  used  to  determine  eligibility  for issuance  of  Golden  Bear Passes  allowing  use  of State  Park  operated  facilities  where  
vehicle  day  use  fees  are  collected,  at  no  further charge.   Applications  will  be  retained  one  calendar year from  the  end  of  the  calendar year for 
audit  purposes,  statistical  data,  and  evaluation  of  the  program. 
KNOWN OR FORESEEABLE  DISCLOSURES  OF  THE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO CIVIL  CODE  SECTION 1798.24, SUBDIVISIONS  (e)  OR (f) 
Departmental Audits Office 
DPR 578 (Rev. 1/2020)(Page 3 of 3)(Instructions, Terms and Conditions, Privacy Notice) DO NOT DUPLICATE APPLICATION 

http://www.parks.ca.gov.
http://www.parks.ca.gov/passes -contact in advance to ensure availability
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