CA Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) 2024-2025 Lake Perris State Recreation Area Boat Waterfowl Hunting Program (Every Other Sunday Only)



Program Details:

Lake Perris State Recreation Area (SRA) will offer waterfowl hunting (boat only) every other Sunday during the 2024-2025 Southern California Zone hunting season (October 27,November 3, November 17, December 1, December 15, December 29, January 12, and January 19). All Department of Fish and Wildlife (DFW) Hunting Regulations apply and will be enforced. There will (7-8) boat in buoy locations. (5) of the buoys will be awarded via lottery and the rest will be awarded via day of hunt sweatline drawing. All lottery reservation no-shows will also be part of the sweatline drawing the day of the hunt.

License Requirements:

All hunters must possess the following credentials:

- Valid CA Hunting License
- California Duck Validation (Not required for Junior Hunting License)
- Federal Duck Stamp, unless hunter is under the age of 16
- Harvest Information Program (HIP) Validation
- CA Boating Card (vessel operator only) 60 years or younger 15HP+ All Ages 15HP+ effective January 1st, 2025

Hunting Times:

Hunting (first shot) start of the day times will vary on a weekly basis. Upon check-in, hunters will be notified of the shoot time by Lake Perris SRA staff. Shooting end time will be 12:00 PM. All vessels must de-launch and be back at the check-in station by 1:00 PM

Hunters / Spectators per vessel:

For safety, vessels may only have a designated number of occupants. Adults and youths are each considered as occupants.

- Vessels 11'-13' in length = No more than 2 occupants
- Vessels 14'-16' in length = No more than 3 occupants
- Vessels larger than 16' in length = No more than 4 occupants

Lake Perris Waterfowl Hunting Fees:

Season-long application lottery reservation fee is \$7.50. If a reservation is awarded, applicable waterfowl hunting fees will apply:

- 1 hunter = \$50
- 2 hunters = \$70
- 3 hunters = \$90
- 4 hunters = \$110
- Hunting dog = No associated fee

Junior hunters less than 16 years old and non-hunter spectators are free. Above fees include park entrance and launch fee. State Park annual passes do not discount any of the waterfowl access fees. All payments are non-refundable. One hunting dog per vessel is allowed.

Vessel Requirements:

Vessels must be wood, aluminum or fiberglass, and be 11' or longer. Vessels must have 12" of freeboard (distance from water to top of transom). All vessels must have a gas or propane powered outboard or inboard / outboard rated at 5 horsepower or greater. Electric trolling motors may only be used at the hunt mooring buoy to retrieve birds, place / recover decoys, retrieve spent shells. No float tubes, inflatables, kayaks, jet skis, or paddleboards. All vessels must have current registration and quagga sticker registration. All vessels must have working navigation lights. Vessels must carry all safety equipment on board their vessel as required by law.

All vessels entering Lake Perris will be inspected for Quagga and Zebra Mussels. Only boats and equipment which are clean, drained, and completely dry will pass inspection. If you are coming from a known quagga-infected body of water, you must wait 8 calendar days before bringing it to Lake Perris. Please visit https://wildlife.ca.gov/Conservation/Invasives/Quagga-Mussels for more information.

USCG lifejackets shall be worn by every occupant during pre-sunrise vessel operation. All pre-sunrise vessel operation shall be at speeds less than 10 MPH with navigation lights enabled. A handheld GPS or offline enabled GPS phone app or boat GPS chart plotter is required to find pre-assigned mooring blinds. A fixed vessel floodlight, handheld spotlight, or narrow beam (1000 lumen or higher recommendation) flashlight is required to find the assigned mooring buoy blind maker. A long telescopic dip net is recommended for shell retrieval from the water.

2024-2025 Lake Perris Waterfowl Lottery / Reservations

Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) will accept applications via mail or may be dropped off beginning August 15, with a deadline of September 10, 2024. Each application will be entered in the lottery for all hunt days. There is no need to specify which dates as all dates will be considered for each application. The applicant must also include a check or money order payable to the "Department of Parks and Recreation" in the amount of \$7.50.

Applicants do not need to own a boat but must have access to a boat meeting the vessel requirements. Only one application per person will be considered. Applicants must list their name as it appears on their CA Fish and Wildlife hunting profile. Applicants must also include their address, phone number, email, and CA Fish and Wildlife GO-ID number which is found on their hunting license / hunting profile on the CA Fish and Wildlife license website.

DPR will assign each application a number and apply a computer-based randomizer to award the applicants. All applications will be entered for each Sunday lottery. It is possible that an applicant can be awarded multiple hunt dates. DPR will award the entire season by September 16, 2024. The results will be posted on the Lake Perris Website and emailed to applicants.

If an applicant is awarded a hunt date, your payment must be in our office by October 8, to pay for their awarded date in full by mail or in person. You may choose not to hunt that day, but you will not be awarded an alternate date. Awarded applicants must list the number of hunters in their party (max occupancy determined by vessel length). Each hunter must have a valid license and all associated tags. If payment is not received in full by the deadline, the reservation may be awarded to the next applicant. All payments are non-refundable. There are no cancellations and no-shows will forfeit all payments.

Awarded applicants must be one of the occupants of the hunting vessel. Awarded applicants may not trade, give, or sell their reservation to another party.

Check-In

The hunting parking lot will either be Power Cove (located inside lots 11 and 12) or the normal launch ramps (lot 7), depending on lake conditions. The MORENO BEACH DRIVE ENTRANCE (Iris / Moreno Beach Dr in Moreno Valley) WILL BE THE ONLY ACCESS INTO THE PARK. The Lake Perris Drive off Ramona Expressway will be closed. You may arrive as early as 2:00 AM. You must be in the lot staged by 3:40 AM. Please park in the assigned spaces. At 4:00 AM, a DPR attendant will start the check-in process. Prior to blind assignment, all hunters must attend the safety / information briefing which will take place at 4:05 AM. After the briefing, check-in will take place in order, starting with reservations 1-5 and then moving on towards the sweatline lottery.

When your number is called, the DPR attendant will walk to your vessel. The attendant will then inspect your vessel for quagga, vessel registration, quagga sticker, and ensure you have your required safety equipment (lifejackets, GPS, navigation lights, flood or flashlight, and fire extinguisher if required). To save time, please have these items out of any hatches and ready for inspection. After the inspection you must present the following:

- A copy of your awarded waterfowl reservation
- CA Boating Card (vessel operator only) 60 years or younger 15HP+ and all ages 15HP+ for dates in 2025
- Each hunter must show their hunting license in person
- All hunters will be issued a harvest slip
- Hunter will then select an available buoy location
- Hunter can then launch and proceed to assigned buoy location
- Per CCR T-14 4326 all gear, ammo, coolers, backpacks may be inspected

Hunting Location

The hunting location will be in the east end of Lake Perris in the wooded area adjacent to the shoreline. There will be 7-8 predetermined GPS boat-in buoy locations. Each location will be chosen in reservation order upon check-in. Vessels must be within 35 yards North and South and up to 100 yards West out in open water in line within their identified mooring buoy while hunting. Buoys

may not be moved but you may tether to the buoy. Based upon fluctuating water depth, mooring buoys may be in 5-25 feet of water. Please consider this when deploying decoys. You may not break off any tree limbs or use any live material at Lake Perris for cover / camouflage. All vessel cover / camouflage must be brought with your vessel.

Hunting:

Once checked in, you will be allowed to launch and make your way to your assigned location. Hunting will begin at the designated time given to you during check in. For accuracy, please use a phone, GPS, or smart watch to recognize the shoot time. Bag limits are set by DFW. In addition to normal DFW waterfowl laws, the following rules apply:

- Shotguns only; No other weapons may be in your possession except licensed CCW
- Boats cannot be under power / moving when shooting
- No alcohol possession or consumption
- No drug use including marijuana
- Shells spent into the lake must be retrieved as soon as plausible
- Decoys must have a cord anchor weight of at least 3 ounces
- Decoys must have enough cord to reach bottom
- Dogs must be leashed in day use and parking lot areas
- Only Waterfowl may be taken. No Upland / Rabbits / Coyotes

Violation of any rule or law may result in citation and / or lake termination without refund.

Check Out

At 12:00 PM, hunting has ended for the day. Please make sure to retrieve all shotgun shells, decoys, lines, anchors, and any other items. Please return to the check-in area before 1:00 PM. De-launch your vessel and turn in your issued harvest card and show your quarry. This process is required, and it helps DFW identify trends, conservation, and population. After check-out, please take all birds home with you whole. We do not allow the cleaning of birds onsite.