

22ND ANNUAL DIRECTOR'S RECOGNITION AWARDS CEREMONY

ARMANDO QUINTERO CALIFORNIA STATE PARKS DIRECTOR

Wednesday, April 30, 2025 10 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. California Natural Resources Agency Auditorium 715 P St., Sacramento

ANNUAL RECOGNITION AWARDS



CLIMATE ADAPTATION AWARD

Recognizes those who have taken remarkable steps in preparing for and protecting against the adverse and imminent consequences of climate change, including wildfires, flooding, erosion, air pollution and droughts, as well as threats to park habitats, ecosystems and people.

Calaveras Big Trees State Park South Grove Project Team Central Valley District

Theresa Acosta Antheney Alegre Brandon Burrell Andrew Collum Lee Eal Prestin Gelhaus Danny Harthum Ben Jacobs Joshua Litzner Joel Memmer Eric Newquist Lillie Oravetz Richard Rappaport Greg Rasmussen Heather Reith Amber Sprock James Suero Nathanial Wigington Christopher Yingling

EQUITY AND DIVERSITY AWARD

Recognizes those who have made an exceptional contribution to ensuring all Californians have access to the outdoors and cultural sites and who have significantly contributed to the department's values of equity and inclusion.

> Genomé Rodriguez Sierra District

INNOVATION AWARD

Recognizes those who have demonstrated the remarkable ability to complete tasks and projects or address park problems through creative and innovative means.

ServiceNow Team

Human Resources / Information TechnologyMichael BuntEric AllisonRose HealyJesus AlmeidaAndy LiangHenry NguyenCaroline YoshimotoChris Zulaica

INSPIRATION AWARD

Recognizes those who have achieved a major public objective while emphasizing community involvement.

Inaugural Dos Rios Staff

Central Valley District

Alex Espinoza Jorden Greenhalgh Paige Haller Gerald Heberling Melissa Jones Ali Manzo Colin Miller Jason Moore Julian Morin Sammie Sisneros

Chrissy Sullivan Josh Thompson Caitlin Torres Julian Vega Kathlee Yates

COMPASS AWARD

Recognizes remarkable long-term visioning, innovative thinking and mentorship that fosters talent and provides support to staff at all levels.

> Lori Turner District Facilities Management Program

LEADERSHIP AND VISION AWARD

Recognizes staff with the ability to motivate and inspire others to positive action and who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to the ideals and values of the department.

> Kevin Pearce Oceano Dunes District

PARTNERSHIP AWARD

Recognizes partners who have demonstrated a high level of commitment over a substantial period of time toward accomplishing the mission of the department.

River Partners

Tuolumne River Trust

The Lyons Family

PROFESSIONAL INTEGRITY AWARD

Recognizes employees who have demonstrated a high degree of honesty, integrity, and idealism in the face of adverse pressure.

Judy Russo Capital District

RESILIENCE AWARD

Honors an individual or team who tirelessly and valiantly rose to enormous challenges during an emergency response situation and/or recovery effort.

Post Fire Response Team Hungry Valley State Vehicular Recreation Area Great Basin District / Ocotillo Wells District / Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Recreation Division

Jairo Avila Justin Bahn Christopher Bartman Brandon Beban Jonathan Bechtel Michael Biglay Jeremy Black Colin Bliese John Brandt McKayla Butymhill Carter Cameron Lance Cole John Cunningham Luis DeVera **Russ** Dingman Shan Drum Chelsea Dulaney Dvlan Dunn **Julie Farkas** Patricia Farmer **Jason** Fox Hope Gonzalez

Ioann Gonzalez Jack Gorman Arthur "AJ" Heredia Christopher Hon Ruben Jacobo Dean Johnson Poya Kouchesfahani Joseph Kurtz Timothy Lao Blake Larson Damion Laughlin Cristina Levia Denise Levia-Guadalupe Rocio Martinez Carlos Meza Christopher Molina Rebecca Morris Kevin Overduin Mary Pinto Stephen Ptomey Leonard Puga Joseph Rivas

Alexandra Robertson Martin Robles Bobby Scruggs Nancy Shilvock Christy Smith Erin Smith John Staffel Travis Thierry Michael Thorpe-Martin Callista Turner Jessica Vannatta Charles Verrigni Connie Viola Luke Ware Lori Wear Kayla Werden Karen White Louis White Matthew Williams David Woolmore

TRAILBLAZER AWARD

Recognizes those who have introduced new ideas or methods to accomplish the mission of State Parks or pioneered new ways to introduce the public to California's outdoors.

> Teri Pope Inland Empire District

TRIBAL PARTNERSHIP AWARD

The Tribal Partnership Award was established in honor of former State Parks archaeologist Kate Green, to honor her for her leadership in building trust and developing partnerships with tribes. This award recognizes exceptional and outstanding dedication to fostering meaningful relationships with California Native American tribes. It honors individuals who have gone beyond their regular duties to build trust and respect, value tribal knowledge and support tribes' right of self-determination.

> Mike Grone Santa Cruz District

SPECIAL COMMENDATION

Recognizes employees who have made a significant contribution by going above and beyond the norm and made a substantial impact.

Bidwell Mansion Fire Investigation Team

Northern Buttes District	Partners
Travis Gee	CAL FIRE
Todd Jones	Chico Fire Department
Matthew Stalter	Chico Police Department
Michael Van Pelt	Butte County District
	Attorney's Office
	University Police Department,
	Chico State

Big Sur Sector State Park Peace Officers

Monterey District Bernadette Davis Wyatt Jackson Hayden Mack

Levi Pior Brian Powell Rachel Tuttle

Brian Baer Communications and Marketing Division

SPECIAL ACT / SERVICE AWARD

Recognizes employees who have performed an extraordinary act of heroism extending far above the normal call of duty or service and who performed at great risk to their own safety in an effort to save human life and/or property.

> Zoe Chait Santa Cruz District

Joel Dinnauer Administrative Services Division (Training Section)

> Michael Moses Angeles District

Elias Richter Santa Cruz District

Santa Cruz District Lifeguards Rescue Team Santa Cruz District

Miles Dickey Dedon Prince Riley Rhodes

Elias Richter Cameron Weaver

Santa Cruz Wharf Collapse Response Team Santa Cruz District

Nic Friedly Aidan Malmberg Gabe McKenna Mike McMenamy Trevor Morgan Jacob Murphy Jake Taylor

THANK YOU

Thank you to all the employees, partners and volunteers of California State Parks for your dedication and service to our mission.

Your work helps create safe, inclusive outdoor spaces that support the health and well-being of all Californians, while protecting the state's natural, cultural and historical resources for future generations.

Whether you're in the office or out in the field, your work truly makes a difference. Your resilience in facing challenges such as wildfires and other extreme weather events, as well as your ongoing commitment to making our parks more welcoming and accessible, is deeply appreciated.

We are grateful for everything you do.

A special thank you to Parks California for generously sponsoring the refreshments at the 22nd Annual Director's Recognition Awards ceremony.



OUR MISSION

It is the mission of the California Department of Parks and Recreation to provide for the health, inspiration and education of the people of California by helping to preserve the state's extraordinary biological diversity, protecting its most valued natural and cultural resources, and creating opportunities for high-quality outdoor recreation.

To view a recording of this event, please visit parks.ca.gov/DirectorAwards.