COVID-19 Temporary Campground Closures

Updated: Dec. 16 2020 (2:04 p.m.)

California is seeing the largest surge in COVID-19 cases since the start of the pandemic. If case rates and hospitalizations continue at their current rate, it will be a few weeks from California reaching ICU capacity.

On December 3, California issued a Regional Stay at Home Order to stop the surge of COVID-19 cases, prevent a strain on the health care system and help protect critical care for patients.

The new order will be implemented regionally once there is less than 15 percent ICU capacity remaining in the following designated regions:

  • Northern California: Del Norte, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity 
  • Bay Area: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Monterey, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma 
  • Greater Sacramento: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba 
  • San Joaquin Valley: Calaveras, Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, San Benito, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tulare, Tuolumne 
  • Southern California: Imperial, Inyo, Los Angeles, Mono, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura 

State Parks will temporarily close campgrounds and keep day use areas open in regions impacted by the Regional Stay at Home Order triggered by ICU capacity. The department appreciates your understanding during these challenging times as reservations will need to be canceled.

Whether your specific reservation will be canceled depends on whether the campground you have reserved is located within one of the impacted regions. If the campsite is within an impacted region, your reservation will be canceled possibly with little advance notice due to the critical need to stop the COVID-19 surge. Affected reservation holders will be contacted by ReserveCalifornia via email and provided with a refund. Reservation cancellations and refunds will be automatic. As such, visitors do not need to take any action. However, please note that due to the volume of visitors affected, the refund process may take some time. Thank you for your patience and understanding during these unprecedented times.

Below is a list of park units impacted by the campground closures. All campground sites within the park units will be closed in accordance with the Regional Stay at Home Order or local public health orders.

Acronym Guide:

  • State Beach (SB)
  • State Historic Park (SHP)
  • State Park (SP)
  • State Recreation Area (SRA)
  • State Vehicular Recreation Area (SVRA)

Contra Costa County – Effective Dec. 6, 2020

  • Mount Diablo State Park (SP)

Marin County – Effective Dec. 8, 2020

  • China Camp SP (operated by Friends of China Camp)
  • Mount Tamalpais SP
  • Samuel P. Taylor SP

Monterey County  Effective Dec. 13, 2020

  • Julia Pfeiffer Burns SP
  • Pfeiffer Big Sur SP

Napa County – Effective Dec. 17, 2020

  • Bothe-Napa Valley SP (operated by Napa County)

San Mateo County – Effective Dec. 17, 2020

  • Half Moon Bay SB
  • Portola Redwoods SP 

Santa Clara County – Effective Dec. 6, 2020

  • Henry W. Coe SP

Santa Cruz County – Effective Dec. 17, 2020

  • Henry Cowell Redwoods SP
  • New Brighton SB
  • Seacliff SB
  • Sunset SB

Solano County – Effective Dec. 17, 2020

  • Benicia SRA

Sonoma County – Effective Dec. 12, 2020

  • Salt Point SP
  • Sonoma Coast SP
  • Sugarloaf Ridge SP (operated by Team Sugarloaf)
Effective Dec. 11, 2020

Alpine County

  • Grover Hot Springs SP 

Amador County

  • Indian Grinding Rock SHP

Butte County

  • Lake Oroville SRA

Colusa County

  • Colusa-Sacramento River SRA (operated by City of Colsa)

El Dorado County

  • Ed Z'berg Sugar Pine Point SP

Placer County

  • Auburn SRA
  • Folsom Lake SRA

Sacramento County

  • Brannan Island SRA (operated by American Land and Leisure)
Effective Dec. 7, 2020

Calaveras County

  • Calaveras Big Trees SP

Fresno County

  • Millerton Lake SRA

Kern County

  • Red Rock Canyon SP

Merced County

  • George J. Hatfield SRA
  • McConnell SRA
  • San Luis Reservoir SRA

San Benito County

  • Fremont Peak SP
  • Hollister Hills SVRA

San Joaquin County

  • Carnegie SVRA
  • Caswell Memorial SP

Tulare County

  • Colonel Allensworth SHP

Tuolumne County

  • Columbia SHP
Effective Dec. 7, 2020

Imperial County

  • Picacho SRA

Los Angeles County

  • Hungry Valley SVRA
  • Leo Carrillo SP
  • Malibu Creek SP
  • Saddleback Butte SP

Orange County

  • Bolsa Chica SB
  • Crystal Cove SP
  • San Clemente SB

Riverside County

  • Lake Perris SRA
  • Mount San Jacinto SP
  • Salton Sea SRA

San Bernardino County

  • Silverwood Lake SRA

San Diego County

  • Anza-Borrego Desert SP
  • Cuyamaca Rancho SP
  • Ocotillo Wells SVRA
  • Palomar Mountain SP
  • San Elijo SB
  • San Onofre SB
  • Silver Strand SB
  • South Carlsbad SB

San Luis Obispo County

  • Hearst San Simeon SP
  • Morro Bay SP
  • Morro Strand SB
  • Pismo SB

Santa Barbara County

  • Carpinteria SB
  • El Capitán SB
  • Refugio SB

Ventura County

  • Emma Wood SB
  • Hungry Valley SVRA
  • Point Mugu SP