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DPR 578 (Rev. 1/2017)(Excel 1/23/2017)(Page 1 of 3)     DO NOT DUPLICATE APPLICATION  -  DEPARTMENT LEGAL OFFICE SHOULD BE CONSULTED BEFORE DISCLOSURE.

A.  Personal Information (complete the following):

C.  Check one of the following boxes to indicate the provisions under which you qualify: 

B.  Attach the following required items to this application with sensitive/confidential information omitted: 

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS AND RECREATION
State of California - Natural Resources Agency

GOLDEN BEAR PASS APPLICATION

HOME STREET ADDRESS / CITY / STATE / ZIP CODE (no post office boxes)

APPLICANT SIGNATURE 
I certify under penalty of perjury that the information provided is true and correct.

Retain applications for one year from the end of the calendar year, then destroy.
ISSUING OFFICE USE ONLY

NOTE:  Appropriate certification materials must be included in application packet. Please omit sensitive/confidential information.

County Social Services Agency Date Stamp Case Number

INCOME VERIFICATION TYPE INCOME ELIGIBILITY VERIFIED BY

PASS ISSUED BY

2017 Calendar Year (January-December) - $5.00 application fee

DATE DISTRICT/UNIT

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES: The information entered on this form is classified as "personal" under the Information Practices Act (Civil Code
Section 1798). When filing in person, supporting documents may be returned to the applicant.

NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial)

Application Instructions, Privacy Notice and Terms and Conditions for this pass are on Page 3.

DISTRIBUTION:
Page 1 - California State Parks
Page 2 - California State Parks (if applicable)
Page 3 - Applicant

MAILING ADDRESS / CITY / STATE / ZIP CODE

Same as Mailing Address

TODAY'S DATE

PASS NUMBER

Case Worker Phone NumberQualifying Aid Code

INSTRUCTIONS TO CASE WORKER: Applicant(s) must provide photo ID and must be receiving benefits under one of 
the qualifying aid codes listed above. Personal Information (Section A) above must be completed prior to case worker 
sign-off.  All required fields below must be completed by case worker before application is reviewed by CA State Parks.  
Please omit confidential information from any supporting documents provided to the applicant.    

I certify that the above named applicant is currently receiving benefits under the Qualifying 

Case Worker Signature

DRIVER LICENSE/OTHER PHOTO ID NO. 
(Attach copy if applying by mail)

PAYMENT RECEIVED

Cash Check #_____________

Aid Code listed above.
Printed Name Date

Mail-in (HQ ONLY)

1 2 3 Last 4 Digits CC#_____________

DATE

PHONE NUMBER

( )

DATE OF BIRTH

To qualify, a person must be receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI), receiving aid under the CalWORKS program as defined 
below and certified by a case worker, or be 62 or over with total combined gross income that falls at or below the amount that the 
State has determined to be necessary to sustain the most basic needs.
If you have any questions regarding the Golden Bear Pass, contact: California State Park Pass Sales at: 

SPOUSE /  REGISTERED DOMESTIC PARTNER

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) [CA State Welfare and Institutions Code Section 12200]. Applicant must provide a current 
statement of SSI benefits from U. S. Social Security Administration dated within one year of application, and photo identification. 
Applicant must be at least 16 years of age. SSI is a Federal income supplement program designed to provide assistance to those 
who qualify.

Receiving aid under the CalWORKS Program under the provisions of the California State Welfare and Institutions Code 
beginning at Section 11200. Applicant shall be currently covered under Medi-Cal Aid Codes 2S, 2T, 2U 3A, 3C, 3D, 3E, 3F, 3G, 
3H, 3L, 3M, 3N, 3P, 3R, 3U, 3W, 4N, 30, 32, 33, 34, 35, 37, 40, 42 or M3. Applicant must provide photo identification and have a 
case worker at the local county social services office enter the information below. Application must be submitted within 90 days 
of case worker sign-off.

Single, age 62 or over and average gross monthly income from all sources does not exceed $952. (Complete & attach page 2)

Married or registered domestic partnership, primary applicant aged 62 or over and combined average gross monthly income 
from all sources does not exceed $1,751. (Complete & attach page 2)

4

1

2

3

4

1. A copy of a valid state issued driver license or suitable photo identification (interim/temporary not accepted) issued by the state, 
the federal governement, or a school for applicant and spouse or registered domestic partner if named on pass.

2. $5.00 application fee: Check/money order payable to CA Dept. of Parks and Recreation.
3. Required documentation based on selected certification below.
4. For spouse or registered domestic partner to be included on the pass, you must submit a copy of a valid marriage or civil union 

license or certificate of registration of domestic partnership with both parties named.

CHECK IF APPLYING TO REPLACE A LOST/STOLEN PASS FROM THIS CALENDAR YEAR.



I.      INCOME TAX RETURN (copy attached)

II.      DECLARATION OF TOTAL GROSS ANNUAL INCOME SOURCES*

III.      CURRENT "REDUCED-FEE SPORT FISHING LICENSE: SENIOR - LIMITED INCOME(LI)"
    Issued by the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (copy attached).

► ►

DPR 578 (Rev. 1/2017)(Page 2 of 3)     DO NOT DUPLICATE APPLICATION  -  DEPARTMENT LEGAL OFFICE SHOULD BE CONSULTED BEFORE DISCLOSURE.

APPLICANT SPOUSE/REG. DOMESTIC PARTNER
Income Source  Annual Gross Annual Gross Income Source

Total Annual Gross Income Total Annual Gross Income

GOLDEN BEAR INCOME DELCARATION (Must be completed if using Section I, II or III as verification.)

Total Combined Annual Gross Income:   

2017 GOLDEN BEAR PASS APPLICATION - Continued

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

Doc. 
Attached

Doc. 
Attached

$

*You must attach any and all associated documentation providing "Proof of Income".  Acceptable 
documents include but are not limited to: Statement of benefits from Social Security, Veterans 
Administration, retirement/pension, unemployment insurance benefits, and/or workers' compensation 
benefits; rent statements, all forms 1099 for income referenced above, Forms W2.

NAME OF APPLICANT (Last, First, Middle Initial)

MAILING ADDRESS / CITY / STATE / ZIP CODE

The undersigned hereby certifies, under penalty of purjury, that he/she meets the Golden Bear Pass
Income Threshold for the year in which applying.

APPLICANT SIGNATURE

NAME  OF SPOUSE/REGISTERED DOMESTIC PARTNER (if applicable)

SIGNATURE OF SPOUSE/REGISTERED DOMESTIC PARTNER (if applicable)

Check-boxes C-3 and C-4 from page one are intended to assist seniors aged 62 and older who have very low income.  The 
Golden Bear is not intended to be a senior citizen discount pass, and applies only to individuals whose total combined 
gross income falls at or below the amount that the State has determined to be necessary to sustain the most basic needs.

Provide a complete copy of prior year's state, federal, or tribal tax return including all schedules and proof of filing; If 
married filing separately or registered domestic partners filing separately, you must include  copies of both returns.  
Please omit sensitive/confidential information.  You must also claim any and all income not required to file such as any 
worker's compensation income.

Please read thoroughly before applying under this section.

If you are age 62 or over but your total combined income exceeds these limitations, you may qualify for the Limited Use 
Golden Bear Pass.  

Total gross income means an individual's total income before taxes or deductions.  This includes ALL sources of income 
including but not limited to:  Salaries, commission, bonuses, social security, pensions, disbursements from retirement 
accounts, workers' compensation benefits, unemployment insurance benefits, rent, interest income, welfare payments, 
grants and educational allowances.  To be reviewed under this section for eligibility for this pass, you must either provide 
information under Section I of this page, Income Tax Return, OR if no income taxes are filed, Section II, Declaration of 
Total Gross Annual Income Sources and include all of the associated proof of income documents, OR Section III, provide a 
copy of a  “Reduced-Fee Sport Fishing License: Senior – Limited Income (LI).”  All page one checkbox C-3 applicants must 
sign the Golden Bear Income Declaration below. Seniors meeting these income requirements may already qualify for 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI).  If you are age 62 or older and receiving SSI benefits you may bypass the 
Declaration and supply information under checkbox C-1.

Income Verification

Total Annual Gross Income cannot exceed:
$11,424 for a single person     or    $21,012 for married persons or registered domestic partners.



Under the law, any qualifying person receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) [CA State Welfare and Institutions
Code Section 12200]; any person receiving aid under the applicable aid codes in the CalWORKS Program; or any person
qualified as listed on page 1, Section C (3&4) in accordance with the California Family Code (beginning at Section 297)
is eligible to receive the Golden Bear Pass upon application and payment of a $5.00 annual fee.

The Golden Bear Pass entitles the bearer and spouse or registered domestic partner entry to most California State Park   
operated units where vehicle day use fees are collected at no charge.
Upon receipt of the Golden Bear Pass, pass owner agrees to the Terms and Conditions of this pass; violation could result in
pass revocation.  For the complete list of Terms and Conditions inquire at the location of purchase or visit www.parks.ca.gov. 
Terms and Conditions include, but are not limited to:
  Pass must be renewed each calendar year and is valid for the use of the pass owner and spouse or registered domestic

partner only.  Once pass is received, you may use passcard for applicable benefits.
  Pass is issued as a personal benefit to the pass holder and spouse or registered domestic partner only (applicable only if 

spouse or registered partner is named on passcard).  The pass holder may not lend, loan, reassign, or resell their pass or 
the privileges allowed by this pass to anyone else, including family members.

  Pass holder and spouse or registered domestic partner (if applicable) must abide by any rules and regulations applicable
to California State Parks or to the use of this pass, as amended from time to time.

  Pass is valid for one passenger vehicle with a capacity of nine persons or less where a vehicle day use fee is collected.
Not valid at units operated by federal or local government, private agencies or concessionaires.  Pass may be used any 
day of the week, including holidays, if space is available.  Admittance and use subject to available space.

  Pass holder is required to present the Golden Bear Pass (photocopies not accepted) and a valid state-issued driver license
    license or other suitable photo ID (interim/temporary not accepted) and pay any supplemental fees at the park.
  To receive pass benefits at self-pay locations, clearly display the pass and self-payment receipt on vehicle dashboard

visible through the windshield.  Oversized vehicle fees will not be assessed; however, not all parks can accommodate.
  Pass is not valid for resale or commercial use, industrial or business operations, including, but not limited to fleet use or

pooling.  Pass shall not be assigned for profit and is void if misused.
  Pass is not valid for per-person entry or tour fees (such as museums), boat use, camping, group use or sites, special 
    events, additional/extra vehicle fees, sanitation disposal use or for supplemental fees.    
  Pass is valid unless revoked.  This pass cannot be used in conjunction with any other pass and/or discount, nor can it be

copied or altered in any way.  Pass will be cancelled if the pass holder is found not to meet the pass qualifications.
  All sales are final.  No refunds, replacements or exchanges will be made for any reason including, but not limited to: loss

theft, park closures or environmental conditions such as low water levels, fire, or inclement weather. A lost or damaged
pass may be replaced only through reapplication and payment of $5.00 fee.

Department of Parks and Recreation Marketing and Business Development

Staff Park and Recreation Specialist

1416 9th Street, Room 116; P.O. Box 942896, Sacramento, CA  94296-0001 (916) 653-8280

Public Resources Code Section 5011 (added by Chapter 1303, Statutes of 1982)

All information requested on the application is mandatory.

The applicant will not be issued a Golden Bear Pass.

Departmental Audits Office
DPR 578 (Rev. 1/2017)(Page 3 of 3)(Instructions, Terms and Conditions, Privacy Notice)       DO NOT DUPLICATE APPLICATION

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

If you have questions regarding the Golden Bear Pass, contact

Information on the application is considered personal.  See Privacy Notice below.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

 CALIFORNIA STATE PARKS PASS SALES at 1-800-777-0369 ext. 2   or   916-653-8280.

GOLDEN BEAR PASS PROGRAM
2017 Calendar Year  (January - December)

PRIVACY NOTICE
Section 1798.17 of the Civil Code requires this notice be provided when collecting personal information from individuals.

AGENCY NAME

TITLE OF OFFICIAL RESPONSIBLE FOR MAINTENANCE OF THE INFORMATION

BUSINESS ADDRESS OF OFFICIAL

AUTHORITY WHICH AUTHORIZES THE MAINTENANCE OF THE INFORMATION

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS OF INFORMATION ARE VOLUNTARY, ALL OTHERS ARE MANDATORY

THE CONSEQUENCES, IF ANY, OF NOT PROVIDING ALL OR ANY PART OF THE REQUESTED INFORMATION

KNOWN OR FORESEEABLE DISCLOSURES OF THE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO CIVIL CODE SECTION 1798.24, SUBDIVISIONS (e) OR (f)

Each individual has the right to review personal information maintained by this agency, unless access is exempted by law.

The information will be used to determine eligibility for issuance of Golden Bear Passes allowing use of State Park operated facilities where 
vehicle day use fees are collected, at no further charge.  Applications will be retained one calendar year from the end of the calendar year for 
audit purposes, statistical data, and evaluation of the program.

DIVISION

TELEPHONE NUMBER

THE PRINCIPAL PURPOSE(S) WITHIN THE AGENCY FOR WHICH THE INFORMATION IS TO BE USED

APPLICANT'S COPY

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS:  (NOTE:  Completed application packets with all attachments submitted by mail will be 
retained by California State Parks and cannot be returned.)  Submit completed application and certification material and copy of
valid state-issued driver license or suitable photo Identification, and $5.00 payment to:

IN PERSON:
At many units of the California State Park System
(contact in advance to ensure availability); or at:

Park Pass Sales Office
1416 9th Street, Room 116

Sacramento, CA  95814

BY MAIL:
Please allow 4-6 weeks for processing.  Check/Money order payable to: "CA 

Dept. Parks & Recreation" may be mailed with completed packets to:

California State Parks
Attn:  Golden Bear Pass Program

P.O. Box 942896
Sacramento, CA  94296-0001
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