CHILD LABOR LAWS

State of California

Department of Industrial Relations
Division of Labor Standards Enforcement
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SUMMARY CHART

Ages 16 & 17

Ages 14 & 15

Must have completed 7th grade | Must have completed 7 grade

to work while school in
session.
(EC 49112)

4 hours per day on any
schoolday**
[EC 49112; 49116; LC 1391]

8 hours on any non-schoolday
or on any day preceding a non-
schoolday.

[EC 49112; 49116; LC 1391]

48 hours per week [LC 1391]

WEE students & personal
attendants*** may work more
than 4 hours on a schoolday,
but never more than 8. See text.
[EC 49116; LC 1391, 1392]

8 hours per day [LC 1391,
1392]

48 hours per week [LC 1391]

to work while school in session
(EC 49112)

3 hours per schoolday outside

of school hours
[EC 49112, 49116; LC 1391]

8 hours on any non-schoolday

18 hours per week [EC 49116;
LC 1391]

WEE students may work
during school hours & up to 23
hours per week. See text. [EC
49116; LC 1391]

8 hours per day [LC 1391,
1392]

40 hours per week [LC 1391]

5a.m. — 10 p.m. However, until |7 a.m. — 7 p.m., except that

12:30 a.m. on any evening
preceding a nonschoolday [LC
1391]

WEE students, with
permission, until 12:30 a.m. on
any day [LC 1391.1]

Messengers: 6 a.m. — 9 p.m.

from June 1 through Labor
Day, until 9 p.m. [LC 1391]

Ages 12 & 13

May be employed only during
school holidays and vacations
(usually construed to include
weekends). May never be
employed on any schoolday,
either before or after school.
[EC 49111] See text.

Daily and weekly work hour
maximums while school is in
session are not specified in
statute, but may not exceed the
maximum allowed when school
is not in session or the
maximum stated on permit.
[EC 49111; LC 1391, 1392]
See text.

Not eligible for WEE
programs. [EC 49113]

8 hours per day [LC 1391,
1392]

40 hours per week [LC 1391]

7 a.m. —7 p.m., except that
from June 1 through Labor
Day, until 9 p.m. [LC 1391



CHILD LABOR LAWS
MINORS UNDER AGE 12

California Law Federal Law
School Attendance
Must attend school full-time State law app]iesl
Permit to Work and to Employ

Not Permitted to Work except in the entertainment industry on Certificate of age required. (State permit suffices.)
permits issued by the Labor Commissioner.

Hours of Work
Maximum Hours Daily: 8 hours. Weekly: 40 hours. May not be employed in firms subject to the Fair
Spread of Hours 7am - 7pm (- 9pm June 1 through Labor Day). | ahor Standards Act, except certain agricultural
firms.

See text and separate table for entertainment industry employment.
Wages

Must be paid at least wage rates required by the Industrial Welfare Must be paid at least the wage rates required by the

_Co:nr;iss;og. E_xg:eptiogs: Parents anﬁ. persor]al attendants (Wk]lich FLSA. Exceptions: Casual babysitting (under 20

an?mism 355322 g gcerfi%gpraeg'&rzn:gnsgv'Ces) are exemptirom s per week) and com panionship services. _
Subminimum rates available only under a special
federal certificate and must comply with state child
labor standards.

Exemptions

NO PERMITS REQUIRED FOR: FLSA's child labor provisions do not apply to 1)
child actors or performers in motion pictures,

Any self-employed minor; newscarriers self-employed on a regular theatrical, radio or television productions; 2)

route to deliver newspapers to consumers (newscarriers must be at

least 12 years of age); casual work in private homes such as newscarrier_S; 3) children employed as homeworkers
babysitting, lawnmowing, leaf raking, etc.; Employment by for production of holly and evergreen wreaths,
parent/guardian in domestic labor on or in connection with premises  |including harvesting of forest products for such

the parent/guardian owns, operates or controls. wreaths; and 4) most domestic service.

NOTE: Parent/guardians may not employ their minor children in ] ) L.
manufacturing, mercantile or other enterprises without work permits. NQTE- Parent/gugrdlans may en_1p|0y their minor
Except as noted, parent employers are subject to all occupational children under 16 in any occupation except mining or

restrictions. manufacturing, or in occupations declared hazardous
in federal regulation for minors under 18 (See chart
for 16- and 17-year-olds.)

Agriculture

May only work for parent/guardian on or in connection with premises |May be employed on farms owned or operated by the
the parent owns, operates, or controls. No permit is required and no parent or person standing in place of the parent. Must

occupational restrictions apply except that the minor may not work . PSR
during schoolhours, even if under schoolage. Esh%rgﬂ%frg outside the school districts regular

May not be employed in or accompany parent/guardian or guardian
into an "agricultural zone of danger," which includes water hazards, May not be employed in occupations declared
chemicals, moving equipment or any agricultural occupation hazardous in federal regulation for minors under 16

prohibited to minors under 16 unless activities are on or in . . ) ) )
connection with premises the parent/guardian owns, operates, or in agriculture (See chart for 14- and 15-year-olds).

controls.

An on-line version is available of the Department of Labor’s Child Labor booklet:
http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/dIse.html



