
 

NON-PROFIT MANAGEMENT CORPORATION of  

California Citrus State Historic Park 
P.O. Box 21292  ♥  Riverside, CA  92516 

9400 Dufferin Ave. is physical address for “mapquest” & invitations ♥ NO mail delivery at park 

Marjorie Rap, Wedding Director  (951) 509-4500 phone/fax  

Debby Phillips, General Manager  (951) 784-0456 phone/fax  debbyphillips2@yahoo.com 

www.citrusstatepark.org for photos  State Park Office (951) 780-6222 

 

SUNKIST CENTER WEDDINGS and/or RECEPTIONS 
California Citrus State Historic Park offers a unique public setting for weddings and receptions in Sunkist 
Center, Orange Court and Gazebo area.   Include Sunkist Center on your invitations.  
        

I.    We offer two different options:           FEES 

A.     Outside Orange Court & Gazebo Wedding (2 hours before park closes) 

Sunkist Center is closed. Guests use public restrooms in park.  
Daytime wedding ending prior to 3 PM (client sets up chairs & puts back on racks)   $   600   

 After 3 PM Wedding (client sets up chairs & puts back on racks)     $   850   
 

B.      Inside Sunkist Center, Orange Court & Gazebo Wedding    

 4 Hours                  $1,450 
 6 Hours                  $2,075 
 8 Hours             $2,700 
 Each extra hour           $   315 
 Self catering or not using a licensed caterer       $     50 
 Per security guard, for events extending after park closing             Apr.-Sept. $75; Oct.-Mar. $125 
  

Maximum rental time is ten hours. Reception times should be determined 30 days after signing 
contract.  Depending on building availability, one hour may be used the prior evening for room set 
up. Gazebo is used for ceremony only and then open to park visitors as a walkway. 
 

Park Hours: Friday-Monday 8 AM-5PM; Closed Tuesday-Thursday. Events must end so park is 
vacated by 10 PM when gates are locked. A security guard, provided by the park, is required at all 
events when the park is closed. Security may be required, at park's discretion, for other events.  

 

 C.      Deposits 
 Non-refundable reservation deposit - outside event (A above)                        $600 or $850  
 Non-refundable reservation deposit - inside event (B above)                               $1,000 
 Facility Deposit (refundable 7 days after event, B above)                        $800 
   
 Events are placed on the Master Calendar upon receipt of a non-refundable deposit.  Person renting 

the facility must be on the premises during event. 
  
 Balance due 60 days prior to event. If wedding/reception is canceled, ALL fees except Facility 

Deposit are forfeited. Date change requires additional $250 deposit. All or portions of Facility Deposit 
may be retained for facility damages, time used beyond contract hours, not taking down chairs or 
having hard liquor on site, more than 150 building occupancy, etc. 

 

D.       Special Event Permit (for alcohol)          $   50    

 Beer (one keg only - no bottles or cans), wine or champagne may be served in the patio area. NO 
hard liquor. Limited to one bar.  Recommended to have someone serve drinks. If alcohol is served, a 
Special Event Permit is required by California State Parks. Client provides "Certificate of Insurance" 
obtained from their insurance company. If guests leave the patio area and go into the park with 
alcohol, they are subject to a citation. Alcohol may require a second security guard. 

 



II.   Building Information 
A. Sunkist Center has seating capacity of 150 for dining. Building has restrooms, heating and air 

conditioning. Dancing is recommended on the veranda outside building. Contact State Parks to use 
other areas of park (See below). 

  
B. A limited number of dated parking passes are distributed to your guests for your event.  State Parks 

parking fees are included in your rental contract.  The front parking lot will be reserved for your 
guests.   Parking passes must be visible on the car’s front dash. 

 
C. Loading/unloading done behind building. Limited limo parking in front lot and limos cannot drive 

beyond front lot.  Drop-offs in front parking lot by walkway as there’s no stopping along driveway.  
 

D. Serving kitchen has one oven, double sink (NO garbage disposal), refrigerator (NO freezer) and 
dishwasher. Client brings cooler for ice. Dump extra ice in parking lot. Trash must be removed from 
building and put in dumpster. 

 
E. Off-premise food allowed. Bring food prepared for serving. Table legs must have rubber feet. Drink 

tables set up outside. NO food colored punch.  All outside cooking and BBQ grills should be set up in 
the parking lot away from the building. 

 
F.     Client responsible for set up and tear down of the 150 neutral chairs and any outside chairs and           

           tables.  Inside tables are usually set up.  We have:  17 - 60" round (seat 8)   1 – 30” x 8’ buffet   

                                   3 – 72” round (seat 10)    7 – 48” round (seat 6)    5 –30” x 6’ buffet   
 
G.      Building must be booked to allow adequate time for setup, tear-down, clean-up and removing items.   
           Building is unlocked and opened 60 minutes prior to rental time.   Do not sign contracts with vendors 
           to commit time into last hour of rental, that is usually used for tear-down and clean-up.  If china and   
           glass are used, add 2 hours additional rental time.  No tables can block door access. 
   

G.        III.  Other Information   
A.  A vendor list is provided when a contract is signed.  Client provides musicians or D.J., food, dishes, 

tablecloths (add 20” to table size for minimum table drop) and napkins; flowers and decorations; 
clergy and outside coverings for weather. Clients may hold a wedding rehearsal with the bridal party 
and clergy on weekdays during park hours.     

 
B       If using outside rentals, request 2 hour delivery on Fri. PM and pick up Mon. AM with your reservation. 

 Discuss plans with Wedding Director for smooth set-up. Tents or awnings must be freestanding.        
 Contact staff prior to set-up. Nothing may be inserted into the grass or grounds. 

 
  C.  Client liable for guests' damage to building, furnishings or landscape. Decorations must meet                  

    Riverside Fire Department safety regulations.  Client must remove all decorations after event. Tie       

    decorations to outside handrails and building structure.  NO tape or staples. NO candles or smoking   

    inside building. NO decorations on the walls or wood. NO glitter, birdseed, confetti, rice, bubbles or     

    potpourri. NO release of helium balloons. NO trimming the roses. Special climbing roses grow around 
     the gazebo and are trimmed by park staff in January. A pink crepe myrtle, planted at the end of the    
     patio near the gazebo, blooms in June.  

 

IV.   Park Events     
 Contact State Park Office for fees and permit information for events held in the park's public areas 

during park hours. No one can remain in the public areas after park closes. 
 

  California Citrus SHP and/or CCSHPNPMC accepts no responsibility for any personal injury, 

personal property, rental items or vendor equipment.        9/12  
 


