The Walton House was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright but completed in 1961 following Wright’s death in 1959. The house was completed under the supervision of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation and the Taliesin Associated Architects. The house was listed under Criterion C at the state level of significance as an excellent example of type and period, as the work of a master, and for its high artistic value. Beginning in 1936 with the Jacobs House in Madison, Wisconsin, Frank Lloyd Wright built what would be his first Usonian House – a small, efficient, affordable, artistic, and organic house for the middleclass. He would continue to design Usonian houses across the country until his death in 1959; each a unique response to site and owner. Twelve Usonian houses were built in California beginning in 1936 with the Hanna House in Palo Alto, which is a National Historic Landmark. The Walton House exemplifies all the major characteristics that define the Usonian style. It is a modest house with strongly horizontal lines that is integrated closely with its environment and organized to facilitate an informal, family oriented life-style. The Walton House exemplifies the innovations in construction and technology that Wright sought to introduce into home design to reduce costs for the average buyer. The Walton House meets Criteria Consideration G: Properties that have Achieved Significance within the Last Fifty Years. The property is exceptionally significant as an example of a recognized body of work by master architect Frank Lloyd Wright that has been highly scrutinized and praised by scholars and architectural historians.

Registration Date: 12/14/2006

City: Modesto
County: Stanislaus

417 Hogue Dr.

Back   Return to Listed Resources Listing