Once called Dentville, this picturesque mining center and trading post was founded in 1849. An early ferry carried Argonauts on their way to the southern mines. The rare wooden covered bridge, reportedly designed by U. S. Grant, brother-in-law of the Dent brothers, and the old flour mill were built there in 1854. The town served as the county seat from 1862 to 1872. This property was also listed in the National Register fo Historic Places on 4/23/1975.
Registration Date: 8/8/1939
City: Knights Ferry
On Sonora Rd, 1.4 mi W of State Hwy 120 (P.M. 16.4), Knights Ferry
Back Return to Listed Resources Listing