6am to 10pm Monday thru Sunday. Gates close at 9pm.
Bolsa Chica State Beach
Driving Directions to Bolsa Chica SB
Camping and Lodging
Online reservations are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Reservations can be made 7 months in advance on the first day of the month beginning at 8:00 a.m. PST via the website, by mail, or by calling the toll free telephone number at 1-800-444-7275. Due to seasonal volume, access to the ReserveAmerica website and the telephone line may at times be limited.Online Reservations
Brochures and Campground Maps
Upcoming Park Events
No events scheduled at this moment.
Bolsa Chica State Beach is a popular state beach, drawing hundreds of thousands of visitors to its location south of the community of Sunset Beach in Orange County. This area was once called "Tin Can Beach" and became a state beach in 1960. Bolsa Chica is a perfect place to go surfing, sunbathing, play volleyball, enjoy water sports, hold family outings or to watch the sun set. Average summer temperatures range in the high 70s, while winter brings slightly cooler mid-60- degree weather. The beach consistently draws prime waves and the surf breaks in shallower water, causing incoming waves to form a desirable curled shape as they crest.
Bolsa Chica is also a place for surf fishing of perch, corbina, California corbina, croaker, cabezon, shovelnose guitar fish and sand shark. At new and full moons during the summer, visitors can enjoy bare-handed fishing for California grunion, a species that only spawns on sandy southern California beaches. Under state law, these fish may be caught by hand with a fishing permit. Wildlife and bird watching are also popular at this state beach. The Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve is located across the Pacific Coast Highway (PCH) from the beach and is operated by the California Department of Fish and Game.
The Bolsa Chica State Beach Visitor Center features year-round interpretative displays and exhibits. The State Beach has 50 campsites with electric and water hookups for self-contained RVs. Picnic tables, outdoor showers and restrooms are accessible. A beach wheelchair is available for loan, with ramps for sand access.There is a paved beachside trail that runs for 8.5 miles between Bolsa Chica and Huntington State Beaches.
Note: Tent camping is not allowed at Bolsa Chica State Beach. Fire rings are available every day of the year from 6 am to 10 pm.
Surfline provides an internet source of beach weather and surf reports, including live streaming video feeds, and is Proud Partner of California State Parks.
Location – Directions
Bolsa Chica State Beach is located in Huntington Beach, California and extends three miles from Sunset Beach to Seapoint Avenue along Pacific Coast Highway.
Lifeguard Services at Bolsa Chica State Beach are provided by the California State Parks Lifeguard Service. Lifeguards patrol the beach year round while lifeguard towers are staffed roughly from Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day weekend.
FIRE RINGS AND MOST ASKED QUESTIONS
Yes we have them! There are 200 on Bolsa Chica State Beach and they are first come first serve unless reserved with a picnic area (see Event and Picnic Reservation Information).
Coals and Wood can be used in the Fire Rings or coals can be used in the "existing" park BBQ's in the picnic areas. (No charcoal grills allowed).
You may bring your own PROPANE GRILL, it must be at least 18" off the ground and can be put anywhere on the beach behind the line of Lifeguard Towers.
NO ALCOHOL ALLOWED
No balloons or piñata type things allowed anywhere on the beach (think environmental awareness). We do have wild life that like to eat unedible things they find.
No enclosed tents, ez-ups and open tarps only.
No Dogs on sand, they can be on a leash on paved multi-use trail (bike path) only.
RV's: no pop-outs or awnings allowed. You may bring your recreational vehicle but you must be inside it or on the beach. Each parking space must be available for a paid parked vehicle at all times.
Bolsa Chica State Beach User Fees:
Standard Vehicle Rates (April to September):
Day Use $15.00
Senior Day Use $14.00
Disabled Day Use $7.50*
Oversize Vehicle Rates:
Day Use $30.00
Senior Day Use $28.00
Disabled Day Use $22.50*
*Valid CA State Park Disabled Discount Pass required. Note: Golden Bear, Limited Use Golden Bear and State Parks Annual Pass prices remain unaffected.
*Your purchased ticket gets you in and out of the park and into any other State Park on same day until closing as long as parking is still available.