No Hours Listed
Jack London State Historic Park
Driving Directions to Jack London SHP
The park’s upper parking lot provides access to a picnic area, London’s cottage, stables, stone barns, silos and "pig palace."
Camping and Lodging
Online reservations are not available for this park.
Brochures and Campground Maps
Upcoming Park Events
No events scheduled at this moment.
Information and Fees
Park Operated by Valley of the Moon Natural History Association,
No STATE Services or Staff Available.
Learn more about how you can enjoy this park at: http://www.jacklondonpark.com
Facilities and Activities
Jack London State Historic Park is a memorial to writer and adventurer Jack London, who made his home at the site from 1911 until his death in 1916. The park was once part of the famous writer’s Beauty Ranch.
There is a museum in "The House of Happy Walls" which Mrs. London built in redwood grove find park information, exhibits and a small sales area there. A nearby trail leads to Jack London’s grave and to the remains of "Wolf House," London’s dream house which was destroyed by fire in 1913.
The park contains the cottage residence where he wrote books, short stories, articles and letters while he oversaw various agricultural enterprises. Visit the Londons' Cottage to imagine what it would have been like to have been a guest at their spectacular Beauty Ranch. See where Jack prolifically wrote in order to keep his dream of developing a model farm funded. Ramble among the historic structures of the Ranch, explore the innovative "Pig Palace," discover how Jack's new approaches to farming are still relevant today.
A 3/4 mile walk takes visitors to a dam, lake, and bathhouse built by London. Other hikes lead up through fir and oak woodlands to views of the Valley of the Moon.
After London’s death, his wife, Charmian, continued to live at the ranch until her death in 1955. It was her wish that the ranch be preserved in memory of Jack London and his work.
Operating hours can vary seasonably, some facilities may be closed when the park is open. Please note operating hours listed on the right side this page.
Docent led tours and special events may be available, visit the link above or call park for details.
A park entrance fee is collected; $10 per vehicle, $5 walk or bike in. Annual passes are available. There is free admission to the House of Happy Walls Museum to all who visit the park. The entrance fee for Londons' Cottage is $4, $2 for Seniors and free for age 12 and under. The park, including the Museum and the Londons' Cottage are closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day.
Drinking water will no longer be available on the trail to the Wolf House ruins. For your convenience, bottles of water may be purchased at the House of Happy Walls Museum.
Dogs are not allowed on backcountry trails. Dogs are allowed on a leash in the Historic Area only. Dogs are not permitted beyond the silos or inside the museum.
Bicycling and horseback riding are permitted on some trails.
The park contains a small picnic area. Camping is available at nearby Sugarloaf Ridge State Park.
The historic park is at 2400 London Ranch Road in Glen Ellen, about a 20 minute drive north of Sonoma.
The park’s upper parking lot provides access to a picnic area, Londons' Cottage, stables, stone barns, silos and "pig palace." The Kohler & Frohling winery ruins are near the cottage.
The weather can be changeable; layered clothing is recommended.