Daily: 7:00am to Sunset year round.
Mount Tamalpais State Park
Driving Directions to Mount Tamalpais State Park
Camping and Lodging
Online reservations are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Reservations can be made 7 months in advance on the first day of the month beginning at 8:00 a.m. PST via the website, by mail, or by calling the toll free telephone number at 1-800-444-7275. Due to seasonal volume, access to the ReserveAmerica website and the telephone line may at times be limited.Online Reservations
Brochures and Campground Maps
Upcoming Park Events
No events scheduled at this moment.
Bootjack Campground Now Open - Volunteer Camp Host Needed
State Parks is proud to announce the opening of Mt. Tam's Bootjack Campground. This campground boasts stunning views and is open to campers on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information please call the park at (415) 388-2070.
Mark your calendars in late April. There will be a ribbon cutting ceremony and celebration of beautiful Bootjack Campground!
Mt. Tam staff is searching for the ideal camp host, or hosts, to help with campground operations at Pantoll and Bootjack. The camphost will make use of a trailer pad with electrical, water and sewer hookups located in the lower Pantoll parking lot. This wonderful volunteer opportunity is available immediately. For those interested click here to get detailed information about the job. Please contact Ranger Tom Frazier at Thomas.Frazier@parks.ca.gov or (415) 388-3653 for information on how to apply.
Just north of San Francisco's Golden Gate is Mount Tamalpais. It has redwood groves and oak woodlands with a spectacular view from the 2,571-foot peak.
On a clear day, visitors can see the Farallon Islands 25 miles out to sea, the Marin County hills, San Francisco and the bay, hills and cities of the East Bay, and Mount Diablo. On rare occasions, the Sierra Nevada's snow-covered mountains can be seen 150 miles away.
Coastal Miwok Indians lived in the area for thousands of years before Europeans arrived. In 1770, two explorers named the mountain La Sierra de Nuestro Padre de San Francisco, which was later changed to the Miwok word Tamalpais.
With the Gold Rush of 1849, San Francisco grew and more people began to use Mount Tamalpais for recreation. Trails were developed and a wagon road was built. Later, a railway was completed and became known as "The Crookedest Railroad in the World." It was abandoned in 1930 after a wildfire damaged the line.
Facilities and Activities
Hiking and Bicycle Trails: More than 50 miles of hiking trails are within the park and connect to a larger, 200 mile long trail system. Friends of Mt. Tam provides hike suggestions and hike schedules on their website.
Road bikers are challenged by the infamous seven sisters and the twisting road to the top while mountain bikers can enjoy the Coast View and Dias Ridge multi-use trails as well as park fire trails.
Be aware of park regulations when visiting!
The Bootjack Picnic Area has tables, stoves, piped drinking water and flush toilets.
The Mountain Theater (AKA The Cushing Memorial Theater) was constructed by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s. The natural-stone amphitheater seats 3,750 people and features the Mountain Play each spring, produced every year since 1913. In the summer, monthly astronomy programs are held in the theater, free to the public.
Walk-in camping is available first come, first served at Pantoll and Bootjack. For reservations at Steep Ravine cabins or campsites, or the Alice Eastwood and Frank Valley group camps, visit Reserve America.
For more information about the park and activities in the park led by Friends of Mt. Tam, visit http://www.friendsofmttam.org/.
Summer and spring are warm, fall and winter can be cool. Layered clothing is best.