California State Park Passes

The Golden Bear Pass will automatically extend through 2022, with no action required by passholders. This extension does not apply to Limited Use Golden Bear Passes.

Annual Pass Banner

 

February 28th, 2022

Are you a frequent visitor to a favorite state park or love to sample the beauty of the state from north to south? A California State Parks Pass may be for you. Our park passes offer something for everyone and make great gifts throughout the year, including free passes for fourth graders, CalWORKs families, Supplemental Security Income recipients, and distinguished veterans. We invite you to explore this webpage and find the right pass for you.

Below you will find key resources and a list of the available passes.

Available Passes

Note for all passes: A lost or damaged pass may be replaced only through reapplication and no refunds can be issued.


Adventure Pass

  • Cost: Free annual pass valid for the duration of the fourth grader’s school year through the following summer (September-August).
  • What? In partnership with the First Partner’s Office and the Natural Resources Agency, the California State Park Adventure Pass provides free entry for fourth graders and their families at 19 select state parks throughout the state. Mountains, deserts, forests, rivers… the choice of where to visit is yours. Learn more about the California State Park Adventure Pass – Click Here.

Golden Bear Sample Pass Image

  • Cost: Free. The pass must be renewed each calendar year.
  • What? The Golden Bear Pass is a free annual pass that provides day-use vehicle access to 200+ selected state park units for disadvantaged families.
  • Who? Under state law, any qualifying person receiving SSI, any person receiving aid under the CalWORKs Program, or any person 62 years of age or older with income limitations specified on the current application form is eligible to receive the Golden Bear Annual Pass.
  • Cost? Thanks to legislation passed by the Legislature in 2021 and in support of the Newsom Administration’s commitment to equitable access to California’s state parks, the Golden Bear Pass is now FREE.
  • How? Below you will find important links on the application process:
    • CalWORKs: In partnership with the California Department of Social Services (CDSS), the process for CalWORKs families moved to an online system. Families can now complete the application on their smartphone in minutes. For more information, please visit cdss.ca.gov/goldenbearpass.
    • SSI and Low-Income Families: There are two ways to apply for the pass:
      • As of 2022, applicants can apply for the Golden Bear Pass online via ReserveCalifornia.com. This will ensure quickest service.
      • Applications may also be made in person at designated locations within the State Park System – View List. Please contact the sites in advance to ensure availability. Completed applications may also be mailied, with required documentation including copy of photo ID, to:

      • California State Parks
        ATTN:  Golden Bear Pass Program
        P.O. Box 942896
        Sacramento, CA  94296-0001
      • View a detailed list of required documents pertaining to the Golden Bear Pass Application. 
      • Download the 2022 Golden Bear Pass Application  -- Descargue la Solicitud de "Golden Bear Pass" Anio Calendario 2022 en español 
      • Please allow 4–6 weeks for processing. Once pass is received, you may use passcard for applicable benefits. The pass holder is required to present the Golden Bear Pass and a valid California Driver License or other suitable photo identification and to pay any supplemental fees at the park.
  • Where?
    • The Golden Bear Annual Pass provides free vehicle, day-use access to 200+ select state park units.   View List.
    • The pass is not valid at units operated by local government, private agencies or concessionaires. Additionally, the pass is not valid for per-person entry or tour fees (such as museums), boat use, camping, group use or sites, special events, commercial use, additional/extra vehicle fees, or for supplemental fees and cannot be used in conjunction with any other pass and/or discount.
    • Admittance and use subject to available space. 
    • View the Complete Terms and Conditions  -- Vea los Términos y Condiciones de la Solicitud 
  • Notice for Current Golden Bear Pass Holders: The Golden Bear Pass will automatically extend through 2022, with no action required by you. This extension does not apply to Limited Use Golden Bear Passes. Passholders may keep their existing Golden Bear Passes or apply for a replacement Pass in person at our offices or online at ReserveCalifornia.com.  

 

Annual Boat Use Pass imageThe Boat Use Annual Pass is a small sticker that is placed on the California Explorer Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass hangtag or the Golden Poppy Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass hangtag or a separate card for those who already have their passes and for Golden Bear Pass or Limited Golden Bear Pass users. 

Each motorized vessel, sailboat over 8 feet or personal watercraft (PWC) requires a separate boat use fee.  A separate sticker can be purchased for each vessel.  Valid for 12 months from month of purchase.  Admittance and use subject to available space.  If the craft is a sailboat that is under the length limit and is not motorized, no boat use fee is assessed; therefore, no Boat Use Annual Pass is needed.

The Boat Use Annual Pass is not valid at State Vehicular Recreation Areas (i.e. designated off-highway vehicle trails and/or open areas), is not valid for per-person entry or tour fees (such as museums), camping, group use or sites, special events, oversized vehicle fees, additional/extra vehicle fees, sanitation disposal use, or other supplemental fees, and is valid only in parks operated by California State Parks.  Admittance and use subject to available space.  The pass (photocopies not accepted) must be presented at entrance station and displayed on the rearview mirror or vehicle dashboard (as applicable) when visiting state parks that honor this pass; proof of purchase not accepted for entry. 

To purchase Boat Use Annual Pass stickers, please visit us at the California State Parks Store.  Passes are also available for purchase at many units of the California State Park System (please contact in advance to ensure availability).

For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.

Note:  Lost or stolen passes cannot be replaced and no refunds can be issued.

California Explorer Annual Pass ImageThe "California Explorer" Annual Pass at $195 offers the most value including the popular Southern California beaches along the Orange, Los Angeles and San Diego Coasts like Huntington Beach, Leo Carrillo and Carlsbad State Beaches. This pass is also honored at most parks throughout the state that are operated by California State Parks and charge a vehicle day use fee. 

The California Explorer Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass is valid for 12 months from the month purchased.  This pass does not provide access to State Vehicular Recreation Areas (i.e. designated off-highway vehicle trails and/or open areas), is not valid for camping, boat use fees, oversized vehicle fees, additional/extra vehicle fees, sanitation disposal use, or other supplemental fees, and is valid only in parks operated by California State Parks. Admittance and use subject to available space.  The pass (photocopies not accepted) must be presented at entrance station and displayed on the rearview mirror or vehicle dashboard (as applicable) when visiting state parks that honor this pass; proof  of purchase not accepted for entry.  View the California Explorer Annual Pass Terms and Conditions and complete list of parks accepting and not accepting the pass.

To purchase a California Explorer Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass, please visit us at the California State Parks Store.  Passes are also available for purchase at many units of the California State Park System (please contact in advance to ensure availability).

For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.

Note: Lost or stolen passes cannot be replaced and no refunds can be issued.

Disabled Discount Pass 2017 imageFor persons with permanent disabilities, this pass entitles the bearer to a 50% discount for vehicle day use, family camping, and boat use fees at California State Park operated units.  

The pass is not valid at units operated by local government, private agencies or concessionaires. It is not valid for per-person entry or tour fees (such as museums), group use or sites, special events, commercial use, oversized vehicle fees, additional/extra vehicle fees, or for supplemental fees and cannot be used in conjunction with any other pass and/or discount. Admittance and use subject to available space.  This is a lifetime pass and is valid for use of the pass holder only.  Although the benefits are lifetime, the pass holder's passcard will need to be renewed every ten years. For all passes issued between 2017 and 2022, the 2022 renewal period process will occur automatically, without any need for action by passholders. Passes will be valid for 10 years from original date of purchase. View the complete Disabled Discount Pass Program Terms and Conditions.

Download the Disabled Discount Pass Application PDF icon  (Accessible form when downloaded)

View a detailed list of required documents for the Disabled Discount Pass Application

As of 2022, applicants can apply for the Disabled Discount Pass online via ReserveCalifornia.com. This will ensure quickest service.

Applications may also be made in person at designated locations within the State Park System – View List. Please contact the sites in advance to ensure availability. Completed applications may also be mailied, with required documentation including copy of photo ID, to:

California State Parks
ATTN:  Disabled Discount Pass Program
P.O. Box 942896
Sacramento, CA  94296-0001

Please allow 8-10 weeks for processing. Once pass is received, you may use passcard for reservations and applicable benefits. The pass holder is required to present the Disabled Discount Pass and a valid California Driver License or other suitable photo identification, along with any campsite reservation, and to pay any supplemental fees at the park.

Current pass holders, whose pass will expire within the year, should retain their pass. The pass will be renewed within the Reserve California system without the need for pass replacement. The pass holder should notify the Park Pass Sales Office, at parkpassinfo@parks.ca.gov, of any change of name, address, e-mail address, or telephone number to ensure that their account is up-to-date for proper reservation making.

For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.

Note:  A lost or damaged pass may be replaced only through reapplication and no refunds can be issued.  

Distinguished Veteran Pass 2017 imageHonorably discharged war veterans who are residents of California with an overall / combined rating at 50% or greater service-connected disability, or were held as prisoners of war by forces hostile to the United States, or recipients of the Medal of Honor are eligible to receive the Distinguished Veteran Pass (formerly Disabled War Veteran/Prisoner of War Pass).

Entitles the holder to the use of all basic facilities (including day use, camping and boating) in California State Parks at no charge. The pass is not valid for group use or sites, special events, commercial use, additional/extra vehicle fees, or for supplemental fees and cannot be used in conjunction with any other pass and/or discount. Admittance and use subject to available space.  This is a lifetime pass and is valid for use of the pass holder only.  Although the benefits are lifetime, the pass holder's passcard will need to be renewed every ten years. For all passes issued between 2017 and 2022, the 2022 renewal period process will occur automatically, without any need for action by passholders. Passes will be valid for 10 years from original date of purchase.  View the complete Distinguished Veteran Pass Program Terms and Conditions.

Download the Distinguished Veteran Pass Application PDF icon

View a detailed list of required documents pertaining to the Disitnguished Veteran Pass Application. 

As of 2022, applicants can apply for the Distinguished Veteran Pass online via ReserveCalifornia.com. This will ensure quickest service.

 

Applications may also be made by mailing completed application with required documentation including copy of valid California Driver License or California Identification Card to:

 

California State Parks
ATTN: Distinguished Veteran Pass Program
P.O. Box 942896
Sacramento, CA 94296-0001

Please allow 8-10 weeks for processing. Once pass is received, you may use passcard for reservations and applicable benefits. The pass holder is required to present the Distinguished Veteran Pass and a valid California Driver License or California Identification Card, along with any campsite reservation or tour ticket, and to pay any supplemental fees at the park.

Current pass holders, whose pass will expire within the year, should retain their pass. The pass will be renewed within the Reserve California system without the need for pass replacement. The pass holder should notify the Park Pass Sales Office, at parkpassinfo@parks.ca.gov, of any change of name, address, e-mail address, or telephone number to ensure that their account is up-to-date for proper reservation making.

For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.

Note: A lost or damaged pass may be replaced only through reapplication and no refunds can be issued.  

Golden Poppy Annual Pass ImageThe popular "Golden Poppy" Annual Pass priced at $125, includes many of the premiere "destination" parks in the redwood region, and most of the state reservoirs.  Parks like Julia Pfeiffer Burns and Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park on the Monterey coast are included along with coastal units in San Luis Obispo and the Channel Coast area. 

The Golden Poppy Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass is valid for 12 months from the month purchased.  This pass does not provide access to State Vehicular Recreation Areas (i.e.g designated off-highway vehicle trails and/or open areas), is not valid at the high demand Southern California beaches, is not valid for camping, boat use fees, oversized vehicle fees, additional/extra vehicle fees, sanitation disposal use, or other supplemental fees, and is valid only in parks operated by California State Parks. Admittance and use subject to available space.  The pass (photocopies not accepted) must be presented at entrance station and displayed on the rearview mirror or vehicle dashboard (as applicable) when visiting state parks that honor this pass; proof of purchase not accepted for entry.  View the Golden Poppy Annual Pass Terms and Conditions and complete list of parks accepting and not accepting the pass.

To purchase a Golden Poppy Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass, please visit us at the California State Parks Store.  Passes are also available for purchase at many units of the California State Park System (please contact in advance to ensure availability).

For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.

Note: Lost or stolen passes cannot be replaced and no refunds can be issued

Historian Passport Annual Pass ImageThe Historian Passport Day Use Admission Annual Pass provides unlimited entry for up to four persons to many State Historic Parks that charge a per-person admission fee or a vehicle day use fee. Visit an authentic California Mission, learn about California's Gold Rush and discover the stories unveiled by over a million historic artifacts around the Golden State.

The Historian Passport Day Use Admission Annual Pass is valid for 12 months from the month purchased. This pass does not provide access to State Vehicular Recreation Areas (i.e.g designated off-highway vehicle trails and/or open areas), is valid only at select units and not valid at high demand Southern California beaches, at California state reservoirs and is not valid for camping, boat use fees, oversized vehicle fees, additional/extra vehicle fees, sanitation disposal use, or other supplemental fees, and is valid only in parks operated by California State Parks. Admittance and use subject to available space.  The pass (photocopies not accepted) must be presented at entrance station and displayed on the rearview mirror or vehicle dashboard (as applicable) when visiting state parks that honor this pass; proof of purchase not accepted for entry.  View the Historian Passport Terms and Conditions and complete list of state historic parks accepting and not accepting the pass.

To purchase a Historian Passport Day Use Admission Annual Pass, please visit us at the California State Parks Store.  Passes are also available for purchase at many units of the California State Park System (please contact in advance to ensure availability).

For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.

Note:  Lost or stolen passes cannot be replaced and no refunds can be issued.

Limited Use Golden Bear Persons 62 years of age or older are eligible to receive the Limited Use Golden Bear Pass.  The pass entitles the holder and spouse or registered domestic partner entry to most California State Park operated units during non-peak season where vehicle day use fees are collected at no charge.

The pass must be renewed each calendar year.  It is not valid for use during the peak season from the Friday before Memorial Day through Labor Day at most state parks, and the Friday before Labor Day through Memorial Day at Anza-Borrego Desert State Park, Picacho State Recreation Area and Salton Sea State Recreation Area.  The pass is not valid at units operated by local government, private agencies or concessionaires. It is not valid for per-person entry or tour fees (such as museums), boat use, camping, group use or sites, special events, commercial use, oversized vehicle fees, additional/extra vehicle fees, or for supplemental fees and cannot be used in conjunction with any other pass and/or discount.  Admittance and use subject to available space. View the complete Limited Use Golden Bear Pass Terms and Conditions

Términos y condiciones de uso limitado del Golden Bear Pass

*2022 Limited Use Golden Bear Pass Applications - Valid January 1, 2022-December 31, 2022

Download the 2022 Limited Use Golden Bear Pass Application PDF icon

Descargue la Aplicación De Golden Bear Pass Por Uso Limitado Año Calendario 2021 en español PDF icon

View a detailed list of required documents pertaining to the Limited use Golden Bear Pass Application.

As of 2022, applicants can apply for the Limited Use Golden Bear Pass online via ReserveCalifornia.com. This will ensure quickest service.

Application may be made in person at designated locations of the California State Park System (please contact in advance to ensure availability). View a complete list of designated locations where Limited Use Golden Bear Passes are issued

Or, send completed application including copy of Photo ID and $20.00 check/money order payable to CA Dept. of Parks and Recreation to:

California State Parks
Attn:  Limited Use Golden Bear Pass Program
P.O. Box 942896
Sacramento, CA  94296-0001

Please allow 4-6 weeks for processing.  Once pass is received, you may use passcard for applicable benefits. The pass holder is required to present the Limited Use Golden Bear Pass and a valid California Driver License or other suitable photo identification and to pay any supplemental fees at the park.

For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.

Note: A lost or damaged pass may be replaced only through reapplication and no refunds can be issued.

OHV Annual Pass Hangtag ImageThis pass is valid for passenger vehicles with a capacity of nine persons or less at all State Vehicular Recreation Areas (i.e. designated off-highway vehicle trails and/or open areas) valid for 12 months from month of purchase. Admittance and use subject to available space,  The pass (photocopies not accepted) must be presented at entrance station and displayed on the rearview mirror or vehicle dashboard (as applicable) when visiting state parks that honor this pass; proof of purchase not accepted for entry. 

The following link is a list of the State Vehicular Recreation Areas that accept the OHV Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass: OHV Parks.

To purchase an OHV Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass, please visit us at the California State Parks Store. Passes are also available for purchase at most OHV units of the California State Park System (please contact in advance to ensure availability).

For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.

Note: The OHV Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass will only be honored at OHMVR areas designated as OHV units and not accepted at other units operated by California State Parks.  Lost or stolen passes cannot be replaced and no refunds can be issued.

Oversized vehicle pass imageThe Oversized Vehicle Pass sticker is placed on the California Explorer Vehicle Day Use or Golden Poppy Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass hangtag or a separate card for those who already have their passes. Valid for 12 months from date of purchase or through the valid date of the annual pass.  Possession of a valid Oversized Vehicle Pass sticker will waive the oversized vehicle fee as described below

Oversized Vehicle Fees

Oversized vehicles described as 25 feet or over in length or 9 feet or wider in width will be charged an Oversized Vehicle Fee (OVF) equal to and in addition to the park's vehicle day use fee.  A vehicle pulling a trailer will also be considered an oversized vehicle except as noted below.

Oversized Vehicle Pass Stickers can be purchased to cover the vehicle's traveling size in lieu of paying the separate Oversized Vehicle Fees. However, extra stickers cannot be purchased to cover extending the vehicle beyond the traveling size.  Any additional spaces occupied by the vehicle will be charged an extra vehicle fee for each whole or partial additional space occupied.

Distinguished Veteran or Golden Bear Pass holders will not be assessed the OVF.  Vehicles towing a boat trailer with a valid Boat Use Annual Pass Sticker or having paid a boat use fee will be not be charged the OVF.  Disabled Discount Pass holders and Limited Use Golden Bear Pass holders must pay the OVF or display a valid Oversized Vehicle Pass Sticker placard.  The Oversized Vehicle Pass will not be required at State Vehicular Recreation Areas (i.e. designated off-highway vehicle trails and/or open spaces). The pass (photocopies not accepted) must be presented at entrance station and displayed on the rearview mirror or vehicle dashboard (as applicable) when visiting state parks that honor this pass; proof of purchase not accepted for entry. 

To purchase an Oversized Vehicle Pass, please visit us at the California State Parks Store or (866) 417-2757.  Passes are also available for purchase at many units of the California State Park System (please contact in advance to ensure availability) or the Park Pass Sales Office located at 1416 9th Street, Room 116, Sacramento, California. View a Resources Building location map here.

For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.

Note: Not all parks can accommodate oversized vehicles and possession of the Oversized Vehicle Pass sticker does not guarantee an oversized vehicle can be physically accommodated at all parks. Please contact individual locations in advance to confirm availability. 

Lost or stolen passes cannot be replaced and no refunds can be issued.

Sno-Park
California State Parks’ Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Recreation Division operates 21 SNO-PARK sites that provide snow-cleared parking lots with sanitation facilities and access to snow play areas, cross-country ski and snowmobile trails. 

A SNO-PARK permit is required for each vehicle parked at a SNO-PARK site from November 1 through May 30 of each year. Permits are sold as Day Permits or Seasonal Permits by permit vendors throughout northern California. Day permits are sold for $5.00 and are valid for one single day. Season permits are sold for $25.00 and are valid for the entire SNO-PARK season from November 1 through May 30. 

To find out more about the SNO-PARK program or to locate a permit vendor in your local area please go to the California State Parks OHV Division website.

Tahoe Regional Annual Park Pass ImageThis pass is specifically for one of the jewels of the state, the Lake Tahoe region.  The "Tahoe Regional" Annual Pass at $75 gives Tahoe enthusiasts the ability to frequent their favorite Lake Tahoe State Parks including D.L. Bliss SP, Ed Z'Berg Sugar Pine Point SP, Emerald Bay SP and Kings Beach SRA, and even includes Donner Memorial SP.

The Tahoe Regional Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass is valid for 12 months from the month purchased.  This pass does not provide access to State Vehicular Recreation Areas (i.e. designated off-highwa vehicle trails and/or open spaces) and is valid only at the units listed above.  This pass is not valid for camping, boat use fees, oversized vehicle fees, additional/extra vehicle fees, sanitation disposal use, or other supplemental fees, and is valid only in parks operated by California State Parks. Admittance and use subject to available space.  The pass (photocopies not accepted) must be presented at entrance station and displayed on the rearview mirror or vehicle dashboard (as applicable) when visiting state parks that honor this pass; proof of purchase not accepted for entry.  View the Tahoe Regional Annuial Pass Terms and Conditions and the list of parks accepting and not accepting the pass.

To purchase a Tahoe Regional Vehicle Day Use Annual Pass, please visit us at the California State Parks Store. Passes are also available for purchase at many units of the California State Park System (please contact in advance to ensure availability).

For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.

Note: Lost or stolen passes cannot be replaced and no refunds can be issued.


For questions or more information, please contact the Park Pass Sales Office via email at passinfo@parks.ca.gov.